2016 British Sports Journalism Awards

Paul Hayward is the 2016 SJA’s Sports Writer of the Year and the Daily Mail the Sports Newspaper of the Year. 

The Telegraph’s leading sportswriter, who won his first title 21 years ago, is now a four-time winner of the John Bromley Trophy.

 The Mail took the top honour for the fourth year in a row.

Alex Livesey of Getty Images is Photographer of the Year having also won the Sports Portfolio with the Sport Picture award going to Myriam Cawston.

BBC Radio 5Live’s versatile John Murray is our Sports Commentator for 2016 while the Broadcast Sports Presenter Award went to BBC Radio 5 Live’s popular Eleanor Oldroyd for the second time in three years. 

A fuller report from Peter Jackson, chairman of judges in the writing category.

A fuller report from David Ofield, chairman of judges in the photography category.

A fuller report from Philip Barker, co-chairman of judges in the broadcast category.

Jon Batham reflects on a gala occasion at the Westminster Park Plaza hotel on Monday, February 27, 2017

Nick Townsend on how triple twist landed freelancer photographer Myriam Cawston SJA prize

2016 shortlists – Writing / Broadcast / Photography




SJA Sports Writer of the Year 2016 (The John Bromley Trophy)
Paul Hayward – Telegraph

SJA Sports Newspaper of the Year 2016 – Daily Mail

Cricket Journalist
Mike Atherton – The Times
Highly Commended: Vic Marks (Guardian/Observer), Mike Selvey (Freelance), Rob Smyth (Guardian/Observer)

Ladbrokes Football Journalist
Daniel Taylor – The Guardian and Observer
Highly commended: Sam Wallace (Telegraph), Henry Winter (Times)

Investigative Sports Reporter
Telegraph Investigations Team – Telegraph
Highly commended: Jeremy Wilson (Telegraph)

Multi Media Sports Package
Sky Sports – The Open
Highly commended: The Telegraph Rio 2016, The Guardian/Observer Rio 2016

Regional Journalist
Jon Colman – Cumbrian Newspapers
Highly commended: Mark Douglas (NCJ Media), Chris Wathan (Media Wales)

Rugby Journalist
Stephen Jones – The Sunday Times
Highly commended: Sam Peters (Mail on Sunday), Owen Slot (The Times)

Special Sports Edition
Boxing News – Tribute to Muhammad Ali
Highly commended: Oxford Mail, Milk Cup 30 years on; Sunday Times, Muhammad Ali tribute

Specialist Correspondent
Sean Ingle – The Guardian and Observer
Highly commended: Gareth A Davies (Telegraph), Jeff Powell (Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday)

Sports Columnist
Matt Dickinson – The Times
Highly commended: Marina Hyde (Guardian/Observer), David Walsh (Sunday Times)

Sports Feature Writer
Oliver Brown – Telegraph
Highly commended: Paul Hayward (Telegraph), Martin Samuel (Daily Mail)

Sports News Reporter
Matt Lawton – Daily Mail
Highly commended: Owen Gibson (Guardian/Observer), Martha Kelner (Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday)

Sports Scoop
Daniel Taylor – The Guardian and Observer – Andy Woodward Sexual Abuse
Highly commended: Matt Lawton (Daily Mail) – Bradley Wiggins; Telegraph – Sam Allardyce

Sports Website
The Guardian
Highly commended: Mail Online, BBC Sport

Young Sports Writer (Ian Wooldridge Award)
Sam Dean – Telegraph
Highly commended: Teddy Cutler (Newsweek Int), Jack Gaughan (Daily Mail)

David Welch Student Sports Writer
Katie Smith – Leeds University


Broadcast Sports Presenter
Eleanor Oldroyd – BBC Radio 5Live
Highly commended: Mark Chapman (BBC Sport), Mark Saggers (talkSPORT)

ELEANOR OLDROYD and SJA President Pat Collins (Jordan Mansfield/Getty Images)

Broadcast Journalist
Paul Kelso – Sky News
Highly commended: BBC Sport

Radio Sport Factual or Feature
BBC Radio 5Live – Fight to the Finish: The Story of Marieke Vervoort
Highly commended: BBC Radio 5Live – Hillsborough, The Truth; BBC radio 5Live – Anthony Foley: The Munster Man

Radio Sport Live Broadcast
talkSPORT – Euro 2016
Highly commended: BBC Radio Somerset – Yeovil Town Ladies; BBC Radio 5Live – Olympics

Sports commentator
John Murray – BBC Radio 5Live
Highly commended: Alison Mitchell (freelance), Ian Stringer (BBC Radio Leicester)

Television Sport Factual or Feature
 Sky Sports – Imran
Highly commended: The Guardian – Hillsborough: The anatomy of a disaster; Sky Sports – Bernie at home

Television Sport Live Broadcast
 BBC Sport – Olympics
Highly commended: BT Sport – Champions League final; Sky Sports – The Open



Ed Lacey Trophy (Photographer of the Year)
Alex Livesey (Getty Images)

Sport Picture
Myriam Cawston – Freelance
Highly commended: Mikal Ludlow (Gloucester Echo), Bob Martin (Silverhub Media)

Football Picture
Richard Pelham – The Sun
Highly commended: Phil Noble (Reuters), John Sibley (Action Images/Reuters)

Sports Portfolio
Winner: Alex Livesey – Getty Images
Highly commended: David Davies (Press Association), Dylan Martinez (Reuters)

Specialist Sports Portfolio
Winner: Alan Crowhurst – Getty Images
Highly commended: Eddie Keogh (Reuters), Edward Whitaker (Getty Images

Rio 2016 Portfolio
Winner: Clive Mason – Getty Images
Highly commended: Laurence Griffiths (Getty Images), Kirsty Wigglesworth (Associated Press)

Rights-free images from the SJA British Sports Journalism Awards are available upon request.