SJA British Sports Journalism Awards

The SJA British Sports Journalism Awards, in partnership with The National Lottery and Canon, recognises the creme de la creme of sports journalism – whether it be writing, photography or broadcast – and is widely regarded as the Oscars of the industry.

The Sportswriter of the Year (winner of the John Bromley Trophy) is chosen by a panel of leading figures in sports journalism. To be eligible for this award, journalists must be shortlisted in one of the other competition categories.

The Canon Sports Photographer of the Year (winner of the Ed Lacey Trophy) is selected from the winners of the sports portfolio, specialist sports portfolio, or football portfolio categories.

The Sports Newspaper of the Year is an entered award judged by leading figures in sports journalism.

The Doug Gardner Award honours a member of the SJA who has made an outstanding contribution to sports journalism and the SJA. This trophy will be awarded at the discretion of the officers of the SJA.