2023 British Sports Journalism Awards

The great and good of the sports media industry were out in force for the 2023 SJA British Sports Journalism Awards, sponsored by the National Lottery and Canon.

The Park Plaza Westminster Bridge welcomed 700 guests and winners for the gala awards dinner, with Jim Rosenthal returning as master of ceremonies.

Adam Crafton of The Athletic claimed the coveted John Bromley Trophy for SJA Sportswriter of the Year.

The Ed Lacey Trophy for Canon SJA Photographer of the Year was lifted by Justin Setterfield of Getty Images, who also won the Football Portfolio category.

In the Broadcast section, Presenter of the Year honours went to BBC Sport’s Mark Chapman for a second consecutive year and Sky Sports’ Nasser Hussain claimed his first Commentator success.

The Broadcast Journalist award was won by Gabriel Clarke (ITV).

The Daily Mail was named Newspaper of the Year while in the Digital Publisher category, The Athletic held onto the top prize.

The Sports Content Organisation award was also retained by the previous year’s winners, Sky Sports.

Watch interviews with Jamie Carragher, Jim White and more award winners, plus SJA President Darren Lewis


Sports Content Organisation
Sky Sports

Doug Gardner Award for Services to Sports Journalism and the SJA
Patrick Collins


SJA Sportswriter of the Year (John Bromley Trophy)
Adam Crafton (The Athletic)

Daily Mail

News Reporter
Winner: Martyn Ziegler (The Times & Sunday Times)
Silver: Matt Slater (The Athletic)
Bronze: Sean Ingle (The Guardian)

Winner: City’s 115 Charges – Martyn Ziegler (The Times & Sunday Times)
Silver: The hidden truth behind Roman Abramovich’s Chelsea FC empire – Rob Davies, David Conn and Simon Lock (The Bureau Of Investigative Journalism / The Guardian)
Bronze: Dele Alli interview – The Overlap (Buzz 16)

Winner: Jonathan Liew (The Guardian)
Silver: Matt Dickinson (The Times & Sunday Times)
Bronze: Oliver Holt (Mail Sport); Sean Ingle (The Guardian)

Football Journalist
Winner: Henry Winter (The Times & Sunday Times)
Silver: Jason Burt (Telegraph Media Group)
Bronze: Adam Crafton (The Athletic)

Cricket Journalist
Winner: Nick Hoult (Telegraph Media Group)
Silver: Mike Atherton (The Times & Sunday Times)
Bronze: James Wallace (Freelance); Paul Newman (Mail Sport)

Rugby Journalist
Winner: Nik Simon (Mail Sport)
Silver: Gavin Mairs (Telegraph Media Group)
Bronze: Alex Bywater (Mail Sport)

Women’s Sport Journalist
Winner: Suzanne Wrack (The Guardian)
Silver: Fiona Tomas (Telegraph Media Group)
Bronze: Faye Carruthers (talkSPORT)

Digital Publisher
Winner: The Athletic
Silver: The Times & Sunday Times
Bronze: Mail Sport

Feature Writer
Winner: Don McRae (The Guardian)
Silver: James Gheerbrant (The Times & Sunday Times)
Bronze: Katie Whyatt (The Athletic)

Football News Reporter
Winner: David Ornstein (The Athletic)
Silver: David Conn (The Guardian)
Bronze: John Percy (Telegraph Media Group)

Regional Journalist
Winner: Jon Colman (Newsquest Cumbria)
Silver: Neil Allen – Portsmouth News
Bronze: Ciaran Kelly (The Journal / ChronicleLive)

Social Media Journalist
Winner: Charlotte Daly (Mail Sport)
Silver: Conor McNamara (Freelance)
Bronze: Aadam Patel (Mail Sport)

Specialist Correspondent (Mike Dickson Trophy)
Winner: Don McRae (The Guardian)
Silver: Tom Cary (Telegraph Media Group)
Bronze: Mike Dickson (Mail Sport)

Ones to Watch – Writing (The Ian Wooldridge Award)
Winner: George Simms (The i paper)
Silver: Aadam Patel (Mail Sport)
Bronze: Malik Ouzia (Evening Standard)

SJA Academy Award in association with talkSPORT
Winner: Laura Howard
Highly Commended: Adriana Wehrens; Elise Hamersley; Vayam Rohit Lahoti


Canon SJA Sports Photographer of the Year (Ed Lacey Trophy)
Justin Setterfield (Getty Images)

Canon Portfolio
Winner: Lee Smith (Reuters)
Silver: Clive Mason (Getty Images)
Bronze: Adrian Dennis (AFP)

Specialist Portfolio (Phil Sheldon Trophy)
Winner: Clive Brunskill (Getty Images)
Silver: David Davies (PA Media)
Bronze: Clive Mason (Getty Images)

Football Portfolio
Winner: Justin Setterfield (Getty Images)
Silver: Alex Pantling (Getty Images)
Bronze: Theo McInnes (Freelance)

Winner: Ryan Pierse (Getty Images)
Silver: Alex Livesey (Getty Images)
Bronze: Andy Hooper (Daily Mail)

News Picture
Winner: Mike Egerton (PA Media)
Silver: Gareth Copley (Getty Images)
Bronze: Lexy Ilsley (Manchester City FC)

Young Photographer
Winner: Morgan Harlow (Freelance)
Silver: Cameron Smith (Getty Images)
Bronze: Zac Goodwin (PA Media)


Winner: Mark Chapman (BBC Sport)
Silver: Gabby Logan (BBC Sport)
Bronze: Adrian Durham (talkSPORT)

Broadcast Journalist
Winner: Gabriel Clarke (ITV)
Silver: Steve Scott (ITN / ITV News)
Bronze: Dan Roan (BBC Sports News)

Winner: Nasser Hussain (Sky Sports)
Silver: Steve Cram (BBC Sport)
Bronze: Ian Dennis (BBC Radio 5 Live)

Winner: Ian Wright – ITV
Silver: Nedum Onuoha – BBC Radio 5 Live
Bronze: Ally McCoist – talkSPORT / TNT

Audio Show
Winner: White & Jordan – talkSPORT
Silver: Sportshour – BBC Sports News / World Service
Bronze: Test Match Special – BBC 5 Live Sports Extra

Television Show
Winner: Monday Night Football – Sky Sports
Silver: Stick to Football – The Overlap
Bronze: Channel 4 Formula 1 Highlights – Whisper / Channel 4

Audio Documentary
Winner: Go Deeper: Football on Turkey’s Fault line – The Athletic
Silver: Arteta: The making of Mikel – BBC Sports News / BBC World Service
Bronze: Play On! How Football Returned to War-Torn Ukraine – talkSPORT

Television Documentary
Winner: Amputating Alice – Noah Media Group for Channel 4
Silver: Mighty Penguins – Production Company – Fever Media, Meadowlark & Firelight
Bronze: The Edge of Everything – Studio99; Sam Holness – Autism: My Sporting Superpower – BBC Sports News

Audio Live Event Coverage
Winner: FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 – talkSPORT
Silver: The Grand National – BBC Radio 5 Live
Bronze: PDC World Darts Championship – talkSPORT

Television Live Event Coverage
Winner: 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup Final – ITV
Silver: The Ashes – Sky Sports
Bronze: Rugby World Cup 2023 – ITV

Winner: Everton: Nothing Will Be The Same – BBC Studios
Silver: The Guardian’s Football Weekly – The Guardian
Bronze: The Rest Is Football – Goalhanger

Ones to Watch – On Air
Winner: Miriam Walker-Khan (Sky Sports News)
Silver: Alex Hartley (BBC Sport)
Bronze: Ellen Ellard (Freelance)

Ones to Watch – Off Air
Winner: Maryam Chaudhary (Sky Sports News)
Silver: Maddy Morrison (Sky Sports)
Bronze: Shemi Adenekan (Sky Sports News)