Chairman Jackson hails quality of writing

WINNERS: Last year’s roll of honour   (Tom Dulat/Getty Images)

Another bumper record of entries in our sports-writing categories has made it a challenge for the judges to whittle the submissions down to a shortlist for the 2016 British Sports Journalism Awards.

New chairman of judges, Peter Jackson, admits he has been bowled over by the quality of entries although he would have liked to have seen more from some sections of the industry.

Jackson said: “Even after all these years, the quality of British sports journalism never ceases to impress me.  Its capacity for generating scoops of a global dimension knows no bounds.

“Entries for the 2016 awards soared to an all-time high of 231, some 30 per cent up on the previous years. Those shortlisted for each category reflect an abundance of new talent alongside a number of serial award winners.

“My one regret is the almost total absence of entries from The Sun and Mirror.  Back in the day they were the first papers I read with some apprehension every morning to see what I had missed and yet of all the entries only seven – a mere three per cent – came from those two great papers. We, and they, are all the poorer as a consequence.

“Finally, my thanks to the judges, all 84 of them, who readily gave their time and expertise. We are fortunate to be in a trade where so many are so willing to give something back – free, gratis and for nothing. I salute them all.”

Winners and highly commended entries will be revealed at the 40th staging of the British Sports Journalism Awards at the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge on Monday 27 February 2017. 

The John Bromley Sports Writer of the Year will be announced by SJA President Patrick Collins, at a ceremony hosted by Jim Rosenthal and supported by The National Lottery and Ladbrokes. Paul Hayward of the Daily Telegraph was the recipient last year.

This coveted award is decided on a vote by senior figures in the world of sports media, including sports editors from national and regional newspapers. A panel of experts also chooses the Sports Newspaper of the Year, won in 2015 by the Daily Mail.


Those making submissions included The Guardian’s Danny Taylor, who was judged the winner of the Football Journalist Award last year and who is shortlisted again in the same category, which is now sponsored by Ladbrokes.

Taylor is also shortlisted in the Sports Scoop category for his work on the Andy Woodward sexual abuse in football scandal. His rival includes Matt Lawton of the Daily Mail on the Bradley Wiggins drug probe.

Marina Hyde of The Guardian is named in the Sports Columnist category while Alyson Rudd (Times) and Martha Kelner (Daily Mail) are shortlisted for Sports Feature Writer and Sports News Reporter respectively.

Sport Magazine may have gone but Amit Katwala flies the flag for the publication by making the final six in the Sports Feature Writer category.



Cricket Journalist

Mike Atherton – The Times

Scyld Berry – Telegraph

Nick Hoult – Telegraph

Vic Marks – The Guardian and Observer

Mike Selvey – Freelance

Rob Smyth – The Guardian and Observer


Ladbrokes Football Journalist

Craig Hope – Daily Mail

Matt Hughes – The Times

James Masters – CNN

Daniel Taylor – The Guardian and Observer

Sam Wallace – Telegraph

Jeremy Wilson – Telegraph

Henry Winter – The Times


Investigative Sports Reporter

David Conn – The Guardian and Observer

Sam Peters – The Mail on Sunday

Telegraph Investigations Team – Telegraph

Jeremy Wilson – Telegraph


Multi Media Sports Package

BBC World Service  – Iceland; The Force Awakens

CNN  – Rio 2016 Olympics

Sky Sports – The Open

The Guardian and Observer – Rio 2016 Olympics

The Times – Rio 2016 Olympics

Telegraph – Rio 2016 Olympics


Regional Journalist

Tom Collomosse – Evening Standard

Jon Colman – Cumbrian Newspapers

Mark Douglas – NCJ Media

Daniel Evans – Bath Chronicle

James Olley – Evening Standard

Chris Wathan – Media Wales


Rugby Journalist

Michael Aylwin – The Guardian and Observer & Sport500

Alan Dymock – Rugby World

Robert Kitson – The Guardian and Observer

Stephen Jones – The Sunday Times

Sam Peters – Mail on Sunday

Daniel Schofield – Telegraph

Owen Slot – The Times


Special Sports Edition

Boxing News – Tribute to Muhammad Ali

Daily Mail – Olympics Super Sunday Special Edition

Oxford Mail – Oxford United’s Milk Cup victory 30 years on

Racing Post – The Big Kick Off, Guide to the 2016-17 Football Season

Sunday Telegraph – Tribute to Muhammad Ali

Telegraph – Champions, Leicester City win the Premiership title

The Sunday Times – Tribute to Muhammad Ali


Specialist Correspondent

Riath Al-Samarrai – Daily Mail

Tom Cary – Telegraph

Gareth A Davies – Telegraph

Sean Ingle – The Guardian and Observer

Jon McEvoy – Daily Mail

Jeff Powell – Daily Mail / Mail on Sunday


Sports Columnist

Matt Dickinson – The Times

Paul Hayward – Telegraph

Oliver Holt – Mail on Sunday

Marina Hyde – The Guardian and Observer

Matthew Syed – The Times

David Walsh – The Sunday Times


Sports Feature Writer

Oliver Brown – Telegraph

James Gheerbrant – The Times

Paul Hayward – Telegraph

Ian Herbert – The Independent

Amit Katwala – Sport Magazine

Alyson Rudd – The Times

Martin Samuel – Daily Mail


Sports News Reporter

Owen Gibson – The Guardian and Observer

Martha Kelner – Daily Mail / Mail on Sunday

Matt Lawton – Daily Mail

Warren Manger – Daily Mirror

Ben Rumsby – Telegraph

Martyn Ziegler – The Times


Sports Scoop

Mike Keegan – Daily Mail – Old Trafford bomb blunder

Matt Lawton – Daily Mail – Bradley Wiggins drug probe

Robert Mendick, Ben Rumsby – Telegraph – Chelsea sex abuse pay-off

Daniel Taylor – The Guardian and Observer – Andy Woodward Sexual Abuse

Telegraph Investigations Team – Telegraph – Sam Allardyce: England manager for sale

Martyn Ziegler, Craig Lord, Matt Dickinson, Rick Broadbent – The Times – Russian swimming’s doping shame


Sports Website

BBC Sport

Boxing News

The Guardian


Sky Sports

Sporting Intelligence


Young Sports Writer

Teddy Cutler – Newsweek International

Adam Crafton – Daily Mail

Sam Dean – Telegraph

Jack Gaughan – Daily Mail

Will Kelleher – Daily Mail

Tom Roddy – Newsweek International


If you want to be part of our 40th awards presentations, being staged for the first time at the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge, you are advised to book your tickets now, as demand is expected to be high and there are limited places available.

SJA members get a massive discount on their tickets, and can also bring a partner or colleague with guest tickets on special offer. For full details visit our ticket-booking site here: