Tickets on sale for the British Sports Journalism Awards

The 2017 SJA British Sports Journalism Awards have broken records again – with more entries across the writing, photography and broadcasting categories than since the event started in 1976.

Tickets for the 41st staging of the gala dinner, to be held at the Westminster Bridge Park Plaza Hotel on Monday, February 26, are now on sale.

The event is sponsored by The National Lottery and our awards partners include UEFA, European Professional Club Rugby and Canon. Our charity partner is Alzheimer’s Society.

More than 550 entries had been received by this week’s competition deadline. Judges of the various categories will consider the qualities of the submissions over the next fortnight. Short lists will be published on this website in early February.

The results – including writer, photographer, commentator and newspaper of the year – will be announced by SJA President  Patrick Collins at a ceremony hosted by Jim Rosenthal.

SJA members get a massive discount on their tickets, and can also bring a partner or colleague with guest tickets on special offer. The National Lottery are also inviting 16 young or would-be journalists to the event as their guests.


Last year, The Telegraph’s Paul Hayward was named sports writer of the year, while Daniel Taylor of The Guardian won scoop of the year after his expose on sex abuse in the industry. Taylor was also football journalist of the year.

BBC’s John Murray was sports commentator of 2016 with Eleanor Oldroyd the sports presenter of the year. Broadcasting big-hitters Sky Sports and TalkSport were also in the prizes.

Alex Livesey of Getty Images won the Ed Lacey Trophy for photographer of the year, freelance Myriam Cawston flew the flag for women with her sport picture of the year and The Sun’s Richard Pelham took top prize in the football picture category.

For full details and to book your place for a memorable night when colleagues and members gets together to celebrate our business, visit our ticket-booking site HERE

2016 British Sports Journalism Awards