SJA British Sports Journalism Awards 2019: writing shortlists

What a marathon for our 80 judges in the writing category of the SJA 2019 British Sports Journalism Awards, sponsored by The National Lottery and Canon.

We had a record 296 entries and 813 articles submitted, which has made it a baptism of fire for new chair of writing judges, Colin Bateman (right).

Colin Bateman

The winners will be announced – along with those in the photography and broadcast categories – on Monday, February 24 at the Westminster Bridge Park Plaza at a gala event hosted by Jim Rosenthal. Buy tickets.

The John Bromley Sportswriter of the Year is chosen by a panel of  leading figures in sports journalism. To be eligible for this award journalists must be shortlisted in one of the other competition categories. Paul Hayward was the 2018 recipient, the fifth time The Telegraph writer has won it.

Last year’s columnist award went to Jonathan Liew and he is shortlisted in the same category again, where he is up against Guardian colleague Marina Hyde as well as big-hitters Martin Samuel (Daily Mail), Matt Dickinson (The Times), Oliver Brown (The Telegraph) and Oliver Holt (Mail on Sunday).

The Daily Mirror’s Darren Lewis is flying the flag for the tabloids with two nominations – feature writer and scoop.

Last year Scyld Berry (Telegraph) ended Michael Atherton’s (Times) monopoly in the cricket writing category and both are in competition again.

The galloping growth of women’s sport is once again illustrated with The Guardian’s Suzanne Wrack short-listed in the football writing category.

Rugby World’s Sarah Mockford and The Telegraph’s Kate Rowan are in the final shakedown of rugby writer where Owen Slot of The Times is aiming to make it a hat-trick of successes.

The Telegraph’s women’s sports section is shortlisted for the special sports edition in a category which has been dominated for the last few years by Boxing News.


Cricket Journalist

Andy Bull – The Guardian
Mike Atherton – The Times
Nick Hoult – The Telegraph
Paul Edwards – Freelance / Yorkshire County Cricket Club
Scyld Berry – The Telegraph
Tim Wigmore – The Telegraph

Football Journalist

Barney Ronay – The Guardian
Craig Hope – The Daily Mail
Henry Winter – The Times
Ian Ladyman – The Daily Mail
James Ducker – The Telegraph
Sam Wallace – The Telegraph
Suzanne Wrack – The Guardian

Regional Journalist

Dafydd Pritchard – BBC Sport Wales
James Olley – Evening Standard
Jon Colman – Newsquest Cumbria (News & Star / The Cumberland News)
Mark Douglas – The Chronicle, Newcastle
Neil Allen – Portsmouth News
Paul Ferguson – Sunday Life Newspaper

Rugby Journalist

Alex Mead – Rugby Journal
Gavin Mairs – The Telegraph
Kate Rowan – The Telegraph
Neil Squires – Daily & Sunday Express
Owen Slot – The Times
Sarah Mockford – Rugby World
Will Kelleher – The Daily Mail

Special Sports Edition

110 Years of Boxing News – Boxing News
2019 Rugby World Cup Preview  – Rugby World
Cricket World Cup Final Live Edition – The Telegraph
Launch of Telegraph Women’s Sport – The Telegraph
Hurricane – BBC Sport
Sensational Summer of Women’s Sport – Daily Mirror

Specialist Correspondent

Ben Bloom – The Telegraph
Rebecca Clancy  – The Times
Riath Al-Samarrai – The Daily Mail
Nick Hope – BBC Sport
Tom Cary – The Telegraph
Tumaini Carayol – The Guardian


Jonathan Liew – The Guardian
Marina Hyde – The Guardian
Martin Samuel – The Daily Mail
Matt Dickinson – The Times
Oliver Brown – The Telegraph
Oliver Holt – The Mail on Sunday

Sports Feature Writer

Alyson Rudd – The Times
Darren Lewis – Daily Mirror
Donald McRae – The Guardian
Owen Slot – The Times
Paul Hayward – The Telegraph
Rory Smith – New York Times
Tony Evans – Freelance

Sports News Reporter

Ali Martin – The Guardian
David Conn – The Guardian
Jeremy Wilson – The Telegraph
Laura Lambert – The Daily Mail
Martyn Ziegler – The Times
Rob Harris – The Associated Press

Sports Scoop

Alex Hales banned for recreational drug use – Ali Martin – The Guardian
Ceferin on Racism – Darren Lewis – Daily Mirror
Farah’s coach gets four-year doping ban – Matt Lawton – The Times
Liverpool ‘spy’ settlement – Martyn Ziegler & Matt Dickinson
Saracens Salary Cap – Laura Lambert & Matt Lawton – Daily Mail
Spygate – Sami Mokbel – The Daily Mail

Sports Website

Boxing News
MailOnline Sport
Sky Sports
The Guardian
The Independent
The Telegraph

Sports Newspaper

Mail on Sunday
The Daily Mail
The Daily Telegraph
The Guardian
The Sunday Telegraph
The Times