Entries open for 2020 SJA British Sports Journalism Awards

Entries are now open for the SJA British Sports Journalism Awards 2020, sponsored by The National Lottery and Canon.

The SJA British Sports Journalism Awards celebrate excellence among the country’s sports writers, photographers, broadcasters and editors, whether staff or freelance, working for nationals, regionals, daily or weekly newspapers, as well as specialist sports magazines, news agencies and digital platforms.

There are more than 30 categories to enter across sports writing, broadcasting and photography, the deadline for entries is midnight on 20th January 2021. 

The results – including the Sports Writer of the Year, the Sports Photographer of the Year, Sports Network and the Sports Newspaper of the Year – will be announced at a virtual ceremony taking place on Monday 15 March 2021, more details to follow. Should circumstances change, we may switch to a physical event.

There a few, minor, changes to last year’s awards.

Sports Website is to change to Digital Sports Publisher with the entry taking all aspects of an organisation’s digital performance including website, app (if applicable) use of social media etc.

Entries in Specialist Correspondent, Football Journalist, Cricket Journalist and Rugby Journalist must now contain one piece written under the pressure of an immediate deadline, for example a live report or a report requiring quick submission preceding a breaking news story.

The Burrow family (Photo: George Wood/Getty Images)

Young Sports Writer is to become Young Sports Journalist in line with the other categories and there is no longer a need for articles to cover more than one sport.

Visit the awards website for detailed category descriptions, rules and information on how to enter:

For every entry we receive, we will be donating £1 to Rob Burrow’s Motor Neurone Disease Foundation fund-raiser. The Leeds Rhinos and England rugby league player was diagnosed with MND in December 2019.

Anyone who wishes to donate individually, the link is HERE.

Become a member to get the discount!  Members’ fees are £20 per category, non-members £50 and annual membership is £30.