2017 SJA British Sports Awards

Chris Froome and Hannah Cockroft have been named Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year at the SJA 2017 British Sports Awards sponsored by The National Lottery. 

The triumphant World Cup women’s England cricketers are Sports Team of the Year.

Around 400 celebrity guests from sport, politics and the media were at the Pavilion at the Tower of London on Wednesday, December 6, to acknowledge another amazing year of sporting excellence.

Froome was runner-up in 2015 and third in 2013 but his achievement of winning both the Tour de France and the Vuelta in the same summer convinced many of our members to vote for him.

Cockroft becomes the first para athlete to win one of the three top awards after winning three world championship medals in the summer.

England’s women cricketers beat India in a thrilling World Cup final which persuaded the SJA membership of more than 750 to vote for them.

The other award winners were:

The National Lottery Spirit of Sport Award: Kate Richardson Walsh & Helen Richardson Walsh (hockey) 
SJA President’s Award: Anya Shrubsole (cricket) 
JL Manning Award for services off the field of play: Brendan Foster (athletics) 
SJA Committee Award: Danny Cowley and Nicky Cowley (football) 
SJA World Sport Achievement Award:  Bianca Walkden (taekwondo)
SJA Bill McGowran Trophy for achievement in para sport: Alfie Hewett (wheelchair tennis) & Sophie Hahn (para athletics) 
SJA Peter Wilson Trophy for international newcomer: Reece Prescod (athletics) 
SJA Chairman’s Award: Howard Wilkinson (football) 
SJA Pat Besford Award for outstanding performance of the year: Men’s 4 x 100 metre relay team (athletics) 

For a fuller report click HERE

For a colour report on an entertaining afternoon, including video clips, click HERE

2017 British Sports Awards in pictures

2017 live blog

The SJA is the largest member organisation of sports media professionals in the world. Join us: Click here for more details