British Athletics Writers’ Association

The British Athletics Writers’ Association (BAWA) was formed in 1963 in a tea hall outside White City stadium to represent athletics writers in the UK.

It aims to voice the concerns of athletics journalists with the national athletics federation, UK Athletics, and to ensure the British athletics media is well represented at international championships and events.

BAWA’s annual awards is one of the fixtures on the sportswriters’ social calendar. The awards include: male athlete of the year; female athlete of the year; junior male athlete of the year; junior female athlete of the year; Paralympian of the year; and the Ron Pickering Memorial Award for services to athletics.

Jessica Ennis-Hill

The 2016 winners were Mo Farah, Jessica Ennis-Hill and a special award was made to past chair Vikki Orvice, who is also a member of the SJA committee.

We also produce a members’ newsletter four times a year and organise occasional social events and receptions for members and other athletics journalists during major championships.

We hold an annual meeting, usually during the British championships in July, and officers of the association are elected every two years.

The 2015-2016 officers are:

Chairman: Mark Woods
T: 07710 509728

Secretary: Jason Henderson
T: 07714 338643

Treasurer: Tony Barden
T: 07770 747482

Newsletter: Nicola Bamford

Committee: Martha Kelner

Honorary president: Mel Watman

Honorary vice-president: Neil Allen

BAWA Twitter: @BAWA_Athletics

Past BAWA Athletes of the Year

1963 Maurice Herriott Dorothy Hyman
1964 Lynn Davies Mary Rand
1965 Maurice Herriott Anne Smith
1966 Lynn Davies Pam Piercy
1967 Lynn Davies Lillian Board
1968 David Hemery Sheila Sherwood
1969 Ian Stewart Lillian Board
1970 Ian Stewart Rosemary Stirling
1971 David Bedford Barbara Inkpen
1972 David Hemery Mary Peters
1973 Brendan Foster Verona Bernard
1974 Ian Thompson Joyce Smith
1975 Alan Pascoe Andrea Lynch
1976 Brendan Foster Sonia Lannaman
1977 Steve Ovett Tessa Sanderson
1978 Daley Thompson Tessa Sanderson
1979 Sebastian Coe Christine Benning
1980 Steve Ovett Kathy Smallwood
1981 Sebastian Coe Kathy Smallwood
1982 Daley Thompson Kathy Smallwood
1983 Steve Cram Fatima Whitbread
1984 Sebastian Coe Tessa Sanderson
1985 Steve Cram Zola Budd
1986 Roger Black Fatima Whitbread
1987 Jon Ridgeon Fatima Whitbread
1988 Linford Christie Liz McColgan
1989 Steve Backley Yvonne Murray
1990 Steve Backley Yvonne Murray
1991 Kriss Akabusi Liz McColgan
1992 Linford Christie Sally Gunnell
1993 Colin Jackson Sally Gunnell
1994 Linford Christie Sally Gunnell
1995 Jonathan Edwards Kelly Holmes
1996 Roger Black Denise Lewis
1997 Iwan Thomas Denise Lewis
1998 Iwan Thomas Denise Lewis
1999 Colin Jackson Paula Radcliffe
2000 Jonathan Edwards Denise Lewis
2001 Jonathan Edwards Paula Radcliffe
2002 Dwain Chambers Paula Radcliffe
2003 Darren Campbell Paula Radcliffe
2004 Olympic 4x100m Relay team Kelly Holmes
2005 Jason Gardener Paula Radcliffe
2006 Mo Farah Rebecca Lyne
2007 Marlon Devonish Christine Ohuruogu
2008 Phillips Idowu Christine Ohuruogu
2009 Phillips Idowu Jessica Ennis
2010 Mo Farah Jessica Ennis
2011 Mo Farah Jessica Ennis
2012 Mo Farah Jessica Ennis
2013 Mo Farah Christine Ohuruogu
2014 Greg Rutherford Jo Pavey
2015 Greg Rutherford Jessica Ennis-Hill
2016 Mo Farah Jessica Ennis-Hill



Leave a Reply