Hockey Writers’ Club

When Dick Hollands, Pat Rowley and David Morgan conceived the Hockey Writers’ Club in 1972, they could never have believed how much hockey writing would change or that the club would have bloggers and podcasters in its ranks.

The club has moved forward with the times, and during its history, the HWC has achieved much. Media facilities have improved markedly, and there is greater understanding between the media and the organising bodies at national and international level.

There is still a job to be done and it is our hope that we can continue to contribute and to play our part in advising and liaising with organisers of events in the interest of our members.

Golden girls (Getty Images)

An encouraging advance for the sport has been the national launch of The Hockey Paper in November 2016 after a shocking decline in coverage by the national media. The women’s Olympic gold medal in Rio stirred public awareness and led to greater youth participation. 

Many of the HWC’s members are already members of the SJA, so it makes sense for this collaboration with our colleagues working on other sports to help spread news and information about hockey. The whole object of a club is to provide benefits for its members. 

The HWC annual awards lunch continues as a long-established event in London at the beginning of each year, attended by the game’s most influential people. Gold medal hero Maddie Hinch flew over from France to collect her 2016 women’s player of the year award.

The HWC’s website already records past achievements of the club, but it is also there to record current events and to even look to the future. We would welcome any suggestions for improvements and additional items.

A HWC handbook is published, listing members of HWC and useful contacts. 

HWC officers

Chairman: Jade Bloomfield –

Honorary Secretary: Andy Mair –

Treasurer: Susan Edghill –