Association of Golf Writers

The Association of Golf Writers (AGW) was founded on June 2, 1938 when a group of 30 newspaper men and women attending the Walker Cup at St. Andrews decided there was a need for an organisation to protect the interest of golf writers attending golf tournaments, professional and amateur.

Their main objective was to establish a close liaison with the governing bodies and promoters of golf.

This meeting at the Home of Golf has led to the Association of Golf Writers today being respected as the official negotiating body of the golf media.

Committee members of the association meet regularly with officers of the European Tour while the association maintains a close liaison with our US-based body, the Golf Writers Association of America (GWAA), in addressing issues that may arise on the PGA Tour.  Many members of the GWAA are also members of the AGW.

Similarly, the Association of Golf Writers also works with the Ladies’ European Tour, the LPGA Tour, the Asian Tour, the Australasian Tour and the MENA Tour to better help the working environment of the media.

From an initial membership of 33 UK-based members, the Association of Golf Writers proudly now boasts members in the Ireland, France, Spain, Portugal, Sweden, Denmark, Switzerland, Italy, Germany, Holland, United States, Australia, India, UAE and South Africa.

The Association each year hosts an annual dinner traditionally held on the Tuesday of the Open Championship week. 


President: Jock MacVicar (Scottish Express)
P:  0759 395066

Chairman: Martin Dempster (The Scotsman)
P: 07912 670153

Honorary Secretary: Bernie McGuire (Daily Record/Irish Star)
T: 07946 553207

Honorary Treasurer: Peter Higgs
T: 07802 267276

Sir Michael Bonallack OBE, Tony Jacklin CBE, Bernhard Langer, Jack Nicklaus, Gary Player

AGW Committee
Iain Carter (BBC Five Live), Phil Casey (Press Association), Martin Dempster (The Scotsman), David Facey (The Sun), Peter Higgs, John Hopkins (Global Golf Post), Jock MacVicar (Scottish Express), Lewine Mair (Global Golf Post), Bernie McGuire (Daily Record/Irish Star), Ewan Murray (The Guardian), Philip Reid (Irish Times), Isabel Trillo Amores (Colpisa News Agency, Spain)

Twitter: @AGWgolfwriters

Contact P:  07946 553207 (Secretary)

Contact E: