Football Writers’ Association

THE Football Writers’ Association has been representing football journalists working in England and at overseas events since 1947.

The FWA works closely with governing bodies, clubs and federations to ensure the best possible facilities and levels of access for football writers, and increasingly multi-media reporters.

The Footballer of the Year, first awarded to Sir Stanley Matthews in 1948, is the oldest individual honour in the game, and still the most prestigious. It is voted for by the FWA’s 800 or so members, including a burgeoning student membership.

The other major annual event nationally is the FWA Tribute, awarded for an outstanding contribution to English football.  

There are also numerous regional events, and an annual Golf Day sponsored by Vanarama.

The Footballers of the Year for 2022/23 were Manchester City’s Erling Haaland and Chelsea’s Sam Kerr.

Full membership costs £30 per annum (£5 for students) – details on the FWA website

Chair: John Cross

Executive Secretary: Paul McCarthy
Mobile:  07831 650 977

Membership Secretary: John Ley (

Twitter: @theofficialFWA