New faces, old names and shortlist surprises

It gets bigger, more diverse, more surprising and, yes, better year by year.

Charlie Wyatt's Sun back-page splash: short-listed for Scoop of the Year
Charlie Wyett’s Sun splash: shortlisted for Scoop of the Year

That’s the verdict of Tom Clarke, the chairman of the judges of the written entries for the Sports Journalists’ Association’s British Sports Journalism Awards.

“In the shortlists for the 15 categories, there are many familiar names but, happily, there are almost as many new ones,” Clarke says.

“There has been a record response of 219 entries – which means more than a thousand pieces of work, in print, online and in the packages which combine written and spoken words with still and moving pictures.

“It’s been very demanding and exciting for the judges, all 94 of them.

“Active sports journalists from every national newspaper are among the judges, along with journalists from other areas of the media and sports people who are the subjects and consumers of what we write.

“Together they have formed a panel of experts in the ever-changing forms of sports journalism in Britain, and the SJA is very grateful for the hard work they have put in to choosing our shortlists and winners.”

The winners and highly commended entries in all of the categories will be announced at our gala awards dinner, sponsored by BT Sport, at the Lancaster London on Monday, February 22.

Mail of Sunday sports editor Alison Kervin's interview with Paula Radcliffe is another entry shortlisted for Scoop of the Year
Mail on Sunday sports editor Alison Kervin’s interview with Paula Radcliffe is another entry shortlisted for Scoop of the Year

In addition to the winners of the categories listed below, two other writing awards will be announced on the night.

They are the Sports Newspaper of the Year, which is chosen by a vote of the heads of sport and sports editors of national and regional newspapers and news agencies, and the Sports Writer of the Year, which is also voted for by the heads of sports desks.

The photography awards shortlists were published yesterday, here; the sports broadcasting categories’ shortlists will be published tomorrow.


The shortlists

bt sport logoCricket Journalist
Mike Atherton – The Times
Scyld Berry – The Telegraph
Lawrence Booth – Daily Mail
Nick Hoult – The Telegraph
Jonathan Liew – The Telegraph
Paul Newman – Daily Mail

Football Journalist
Oliver Kay – The Times
Jonathan Northcroft – Sunday Times
Mark Ogden – The Independent
Rory Smith – The Times
Daniel Taylor – The Guardian
Jeremy Wilson –The Telegraph
Henry Winter – The Times

Investigative Sports Reporter
Owen Gibson – The Guardian
Nick Harris – Mail on Sunday
Ed Hawkins – Freelance
Jonathan Calvert, George Arbuthnot, David Collins, the Insight Team – Sunday Times
Jeremy Wilson – The Telegraph
Mark Woods – Freelance

Laureus logoLaureus Sports Website
Daily Mirror
Sky Sports
The Guardian
The Telegraph
The Times

Multi- Media Sports Package
Racing UK – AP McCoy’s retirement
Sky Sports – The Ashes
The Guardian – Rugby World Cup
The Telegraph – Rugby World Cup

Regional Journalist
Jon Colman – Cumbrian Newspapers
Mark Douglas – NCJ Media
Phil Hay – Yorkshire Evening Post
James Olley – Evening Standard
Chris Wathan – Media Wales
William Watt –The Gazette (Blackpool)

Rugby Journalist
Duncan Bech – Press Association
Mick Cleary – The Telegraph
Alan Dymock – Rugby World
Stephen Jones – Sunday Times
Rob Kitson – The Guardian
Daniel Schofield – The Telegraph

Special Sports Edition
Bath Chronicle
Cambridge News
Daily Mirror
Rugby World
Sunday Times
The Telegraph

Wordmark_white on redSpecialist Correspondent (sponsored by Ladbrokes)
Alastair Down – Racing Post
Martha Kelner – Mail on Sunday/Daily Mail
Derek Lawrenson – Daily Mail
Matt Majendie – The Independent
Lee Mottershead – Racing Post
Jeff Powell – Daily Mail

Specialist Sports Website
Boxing News
Racing UK
Sporting Intelligence

Sports Columnist
Michael Calvin – Independent on Sunday
Matt Dickinson – The Times
Paul Hayward – The Telegraph
Hugh McIlvanney – Sunday Times
Brian Reade – Daily Mirror
Matthew Syed – The Times

Sports Feature Writer
Paul Hayward – The Telegraph
Ian Herbert – The Independent
Oliver Holt – Mail on Sunday
Martin Samuel – Daily Mail
Matthew Syed – The Times
David Walsh – Sunday Times

The Sunday Times Insight team has been shortlisted for two awards for its athletics doping investigation
The Sunday Times Insight team has been shortlisted for two awards for its athletics doping investigation

Sports News Reporter
Neil Ashton – Daily Mail
Matt Lawton – Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday
Malcolm Moore – Financial Times
Ben Rumsby – The Telegraph
Charles Sale – Daily Mail
Martyn Ziegler – Press Association

Sports Scoop
Sam Cunningham – Daily Mail
“Go to your room”
Jonathan Calvert, George Arbuthnot, David Collins, the Insight Team – Sunday Times
“Doping Scandal: Sport’s Dirtiest Secrets”
Alison Kervin – Mail on Sunday
“Paula Radcliffe: ‘I don’t want the taint of drugs'”
Matt Law – The Telegraph:
“Eva Carneiro braced for axe from Chelsea bench”
Charlie Wyett – The Sun
“We’re all singing Les Bleus”
Martyn Ziegler – Press Association
“Fifa in fresh turmoil”

Young Sports Writer
Teddy Cutler – Newsweek Europe
Jack Gaughan – Daily Mail/Mail Online
Daniel Johnson – The Telegraph
Alex Keble – Freelance
Alan Smith – The Guardian
Tim Wigmore – Freelance

  • The SJA is the largest member organisation of sports media professionals in the world. Join us: Click here for more details
  • This year, the SJA’s nominated good cause is The Journalists’ Charity. To find out more and how you can donate on a one-off or regular basis, go to