#SJA2012: Vote for your champions of champions

Was 2012 the greatest year in British sport?

Consider: a Tour de France winner, a Grand Slam tennis winner, the Ryder Cup comeback of all comebacks, an English club winning the European Cup on penalties, Wales winning rugby’s Six Nations.

And then, of course, there was the most golden of Olympic and Paralympic Games.

Andy Murray: Olympic gold and silver, Wimbledon final and US Open victory

Well, now it is SJA members’ chance to decide their Sportsman, Sportswoman and Team of the year.

The Association’s members have been picking their outstanding sporting figures since 1949, but never have we been confronted with such an invidious choice between outstanding excellence in all categories.

Plans are well in hand already for the all-star gala presentation lunch at the Tower of London on December 6, with SJA President Sir Michael Parkinson and our regular compere Jim Rosenthal as your hosts (click here for details of the event and how to book your tickets, with massive discounts for SJA members).

But between now and the voting deadline of Friday November 12, SJA members can cast their votes for their top three in the three categories.

Will double Olympic gold medal-winner Laura Trott get your vote as Sportswoman of the Year or as part of the British women’s team pursuit?

These are the British sports awards, where we recognise achievements of British competitors.

For the Team of the Year, the rules require a team – a unit of two or more persons of both or either sex, competing in the same event – who have contributed most in the year to prestige of British sport on the international stage.

So, for example, a world championship-winning K2 kayak crew could be considered, but the British canoeing “team” would not qualify.

The SJA’s British Sports Awards have long been held in close regard by sportsmen and women, because they know that the Association’s member have a better, closer understanding of exactly what it takes to be the best that Britain can offer in the sporting world.

Our recent winners have included Lewis Hamilton, AP McCoy, Rebecca Adlington, Mark Cavendish, Jess Ennis and Victoria Pendleton.

Whose names will be engraved alongside them on the trophies for the longest established sports awards in this country come December 6? You can help decide.

All SJA members are allowed to vote. But in time-honoured tradition, you may only vote once. All members should  receive a voting form in the post. You can vote online (it takes a couple of moments and won’t cost you the price of a stamp) or by post, but not both. Duplicate votes will not be counted.

Is football coming home in your votes? Frank Lampard led Chelsea to a famous European Cup victory

Click here to see our prompt list for 2012, absolutely bursting with gold-touched sporting talent. This is just a guide, rather than a shortlist. Within our rules, you are able to vote for whoever you wish.

Indeed, if you want to make a case for your chosen sports star, you can even submit a feature article, of up to 600 words, to make the case for your champion on the SJA website. Send your recommendation by email to

But please: make sure that you use your vote.


Thu Dec 6: 2012 SJA British Sports Awards. An Olympic year extravaganza at the Tower of London. Click here for more details, news of members’ discounts and a booking form.