Cricket Writers’ Club name Mitchell first woman chair

Broadcaster Alison Mitchell is the first woman chair of the Cricket Writers’ Club.

Test Match Special regular Mitchell made history when she became Britain’s first female cricket commentator and she is treading new ground again. She joined the CWC in 2005, first on the international committee and then, in 2015, the main committee.

Mitchell, who has covered many other sports including Olympic Games, Wimbledon and Open golf is also an SJA award winner – she was Broadcaster of the Year five years ago. She is pictured above (Photo credit: Andrew Hallsworth/University of Nottingham).

She said: “I recall the exact moment when it was suggested to me that I should join the Cricket Writers’ Club. It was pretty early in my career and I was reporting on a County game in Canterbury for Radio 5Live.

“The respected photographer Graham Morris came up to me and explained what the Cricket Writers’ Club was. He said he was Chairman and suggested I should be a member.

“The fact that someone of Morro’s seniority reached out like that, instantly made me feel more at home in the cricket media, and I duly became part of a bigger family.

“I want to encourage all our members to spread the word of the club and always be on the look out to welcome new members in, and I also hope that my position as Chair highlights the fact that the Club and the cricket media is as much for women as it is for men!”

Mitchell’s appointment follows Carrie Brown as the first woman chair of the Football Writers’ Association last month while Janine Self has been co-chair of the SJA for the past two years.