Football Writers’ Association

THE  Football Writers’ Association has been representing football journalists working in England and at overseas events since 1947.

The FWA works closely with governing bodies, clubs and federations to ensure the best possible facilities and levels of access for football writers, and increasingly multi-media reporters.

The Footballer of the Year, first awarded to Sir Stanley Matthews in 1948, is the oldest individual honour in the game, and still the most prestigious. It is voted for by the FWA’s 400 or so members, including a burgeoning student membership.

The other major annual event nationally is the FWA Tribute , awarded for an outstanding contribution to English football.  Pele was the most recent recipient at the Savoy Hotel in London.

There are also numerous regional events, an annual Golf Day sponsored by Vanarama, and more recently a successful series of FWA Live panel discussions, supported by title sponsors William Hill. Arsene Wenger and Gary Lineker were the headline names at the most recent event.

The current Footballer of the Year is Liverpool striker Mo Salah, who was also named the PFA Player of the Year.

Full membership costs £30 per annum (£5 for students)– details on the FWA website

Chairman: Patrick Barclay

Executive Secretary: Paul McCarthy
Mobile:  07831 650 977

Membership Secretary: John Ley

National Committee: Neil Ashton, Philippe Auclair, Patrick Barclay, Steve Bates, Mike Collett, Gerry Cox, John Cross, Christopher Davies, Andy Dunn, Ralph Ellis, Paul Hetherington, Tony Hudd, John Ley, Martin Lipton, Paul McCarthy, Vikki Orvice, William Powell, Brian Scovell, Jim White, Jim Van Wijk.

Twitter: @theofficialFWA