PA Media head of sport Ashley Broadley new SJA chairman

Ashley Broadley, PA Media head of sport (left), is the new chair of the Sports Journalists’ Association. He takes over from co-chairs Andy Elliott and Janine Self.

The association also has a new secretary, long-serving committee member Philip Barker replacing Nick Townsend after four years in the job.

The changes were made at the annual general meeting, which had been delayed due to the coronavirus pandemic and which was held via Zoom.

David Walker, our immediate past chair, has stepped down from the committee and leaves a large void having served the association well for many years. Similarly, Keith Elliott, our training officer, has decided to call it a day and leaves with our thanks.

James Toney, managing editor of BeatMedia Group, will step into Keith’s shoes as we look to expand our service to graduates and young journalists. James will also be helping with  the website and social media.

Chair: Ashley Broadley

Vice-chair: Leon Mann

Treasurer: Sarah Juggins

Secretary: Philip Barker

Andy Elliott and Janine Self will serve on the committee as immediate past-chairs

Committee: Jon Batham, Adam Sills, Benny Bonsu, Natalie Pirks, Karthi Gnanasegaram, Jon Holmes, Sachin Nakrani, Paul Gilham, Ian Rice, Howard Wheatcroft, Mary Fitzhenry (chair of awards sub-committees), James Toney (careers/training).

The three journalism awards judges (Faye Carruthers, Colin Bateman and Matthew Fearn) will also formally re-join the committee at the next committee meeting.


Meet the team