#SJA2013: Final days to vote in Sports Awards

Members of the SJA have just five days in which to cast their votes for the 2013 SJA British Sports Awards.

SJA Sports Awards 06122012Only full members may vote, and all SJA members should have by now have received ballot forms through the post (if you are an SJA member and have not received the mailshot, then you need to advise us of your details immediately).

But if you have not yet cast your vote and want to have your choice of Sportsman, Sportswoman and Team of the Year included in the tally, then you can do so online right now, ahead of the voting deadline of this Friday, November 22.

If you want some advice and thoughts about who to vote for, then take a look at this collection of articles from your fellow members, and the thoughts of one notable non-member, giving their choices for some of the most cherished accolades in British sport since 1949:

James Toney on Ben Ainslie

Sarah Juggins on Andy Murray

Lizzy Ammon on the England women’s cricket team

Tom Knight on Christine Ohuruogu

Philip Barker on Glover and Swann

Rod Gilmour on Nick Matthew

Alan Hubbard on Jen Offord

Jessica Ennis on Christine Ohuruogu

Randall Northam on Andy Murray

This, of course, is just the choice of these members, and of a Sportswoman of the Year.

For a listing of all the other likely contenders in the voting, click here.

  • Between now and the end of 2013, anyone wishing to join the SJA may apply, with their initial fee covering their membership through until the end of 2014 – effectively 14 months’ membership for the price of 12. Click here for more details


Thu Dec 12: SJA 2013 British Sports Awards. Bookings now open. Click here for details

Tue Dec 17: SJA Masterclass with Twitter’s Lewis Wiltshire. Click here to book your place


Mon Mar 24: SJA British Sports Journalism Awards, Grand Connaught Rooms, London
Mon Apr 14: SJA Spring Golf Day: Croham Hurst GC, Surrey. Booking details to be announced