Online voting open NOW for SJA Sports Awards

Online voting is now open for all SJA members to help choose the 2007 Sportsman, Sportswoman and Team of the Year, all to be announced at our annual SJA Sports Awards to be held at The Brewery in London on December 12.

So, who is going to be the 59th annual SJA Sportsman of the Year?

F1’s Lewis Hamilton? Scottish football fans might want to back James McFadden. Then there is cycling’s Bradley Wiggins or Chris Hoy, world champions both. Andy Murray from tennis? Maybe world champion boxer Ricky Hatton will succeed Joe Calzaghe? Or perhaps you will want to vote for one of England rugby’s World Cup heroes, such as fly-half Jonny Wilkinson?

The 2007 Sportswoman of the Year could be between athletes Christine Ohuruogu, pictured, 400m world champion, and her team mate Nicola Sanders, 400m European Indoor gold medallist; Kirsty Balfour, 200m breaststroke silver medallist at swimming’s world championships; another pair of cyclists in Victoria Pendleton, the winner of three gold medals at cycling’s world championships and Shanaze Reade, world sprint cycling gold medal and BMX world champion – and still only 18; or sailors Sarah Ayton, Sarah Webb and Pippa Wilson, Yngling class gold medal-winners at the world championships.

The SJA Sports Awards are unique in that the winners are chosen by SJA members, the sports reporters, writers, broadcasters, columnists, cartoonists, photographers, sub-editors and editors who cover these champions’ performances on a daily basis. Which probably explains why the awards are so highly regarded by Britain’s sportsmen and women.

If you want more of a form guide to the potential winners in all categories, read Ian Cole’s prompt lists by following through on the links here, clicking through to the other articles from there.

You can register your vote now online, for the Sportsman, Sportswoman and Team of the Year. Remember: each SJA member is allowed to vote just once in the three categories – Sportsman, Sportswoman and Team of the Year – and online voting forms are available now by clicking here

And don’t forget to book your tickets for the awards lunch, to be staged from noon on Wednesday, December 12, at The Brewery, Chiswell Street. Booking forms are available here. And remember – the £25 discount on ticket prices is exclusively available to fully paid-up members of the SJA.

First posted Oct 11

Join the SJA today – click here for details and membership application form