Media advisory: cricket awards

From the Professional Cricketers’ Association
What? Photo and interview opportunities with past and present professional cricketers, including international stars.

When? 6.15pm — 7pm, Thursday 8th October 2009

Where? Old Billingsgate, Lower Thames Street, London EC3R 6DX

For further information and accreditation please contact:
James Hindson 07866 241 241

The Professional Cricketers’ Association (PCA), in association with NatWest and the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), has revealed the nominees for the NatWest PCA Awards which will take place in front of 1,000 guests at Old Billingsgate, London on 8th October 2009.

The Awards are unanimously supported by the players, with the main awards voted on by the players themselves. The major award categories are the NatWest PCA Player of the Year and NatWest PCA Young Player of the Year. Nominees are:

NatWest PCA Player of the Year
Ian Blackwell – Durham
Graham Onions — Durham & England
Andrew Strauss — Middlesex & England
Marcus Trescothick – Somerset

NatWest PCA Young Player of the Year
Stuart Broad — Nottinghamshire & England
Craig Kieswetter — Somerset
Adil Rashid — Yorkshire & England
James Taylor — Leicestershire

Over the years, the staging of the NatWest PCA Awards has raised significant funds for the PCA Benevolent Fund. The Fund is part of the PCA’s commitment to helping current and former players and their dependants in times of hardship, upheaval or to readjust to the world beyond the game.

Previous winners of the Reg Hayter Cup for the NatWest PCA Player of the Year Award include:
Martin van Jaarsveld, 2008
Ottis Gibson, 2007
Mark Ramprakash, 2006
Andrew Flintoff, 2005 & 2004
Mushtaq Ahmed, 2003
Michael Vaughan, 2002

Winners of the John Arlott Cup for the NatWest PCA Young Player Award have included:
Ravi Bopara, 2008
Adil Rashid, 2007
Alastair Cook, 2006 & 2005
Ian Bell, 2004
Kabir Ali, 2003 & 2002

Winner’s announcement:
The details of winners for each award will be announced to the media under strict embargo at 6pm on the evening of the awards.

The official photographer is Getty Images who can provide images of the players arriving and winners collecting their awards.

More information about the PCA, ECB and NatWest:
The PCA is the collective and representative voice of first class cricketers in England and Wales. Its role is to safeguard the rights of both present, past and future first class cricketers.

ECB, the England and Wales Cricket Board, is the governing body of cricket in England and Wales.

As one of the UK’s biggest supporters of cricket, NatWest is proud to be celebrating its 29th season. As well as supporting international and domestic cricket, NatWest invests in all aspects of the game, and remains especially focussed on helping cricket in the community, the lifeblood of the game.

For more information please visit

Click here for more recent articles on journalism, sport and sports journalism

SJA members can cast their votes for the Sportsman, Sportswoman and Team of the Year by clicking here.