Rugby World’s Morgan is new RWC chairman

Paul Morgan, the editor of Rugby World magazine, is the new chairman of the Rugby Union Writers’ Club in succession to Chris Hewett of The Independent.

Morgan is the 26th chairman of the club which was founded 50 years ago.

After a politics degree at Roehampton, Morgan started his journalism career at the Richmond and Twickenham Times, following in the footsteps of Alex Spink, Des Kelly and Mark Easterbrook. From the RTT he moved to Hayters and after three enjoyable years under Reg himself, Frank Nicklin and Tony Smith, became the deputy editor of Rugby World magazine under Alison Kervin.

Kervin’s departure in 1999 saw Morgan take the editor’s chair at the IPC title.

Morgan had also started working for the Mail on Sunday in 1993, while at Hayters, a role he continues today. Morgan is also the co-editor, with John Griffiths, of the IRB World Rugby Yearbook, and in recent years has written a number of books including A History of Rugby; The Year of the Tiger with Lewis Moody; and Rugby: A Fan’s Guide.

Adam Hathaway becomes vice-chairman and Alex Lowe, of the Press Association, is the new secretary. Rob Kitson, The Guardian, was elected to the committee from which Steve Bale (Daily Express) and ex-Daily Mail staffer Peter Jackson stood down.

The Rugby Writers’ Club wll celebrate its 50th birthday at a lunch at Stationers’ Hall in London in September.

Click here for more recent articles on journalism, sport and sports journalism

SJA MEMBERS: Make sure your profile details are up to date in the 2011 SJA Yearbook by clicking here