Robshaw named Rugby Writers’ player of the year

By Barry Newcombe

Chris Robshaw,who led England to a memorable win over New Zealand at Twickenham last month,was presented with the prestigious Pat Marshall award at the Rugby Union Writers’ Club dinner in London last night.

England captain Chris Robshaw: rugby writers' player of the year
England captain Chris Robshaw: outstanding year

Robshaw has had an outstanding first year since being given the task of restoring England’s fortunes by new coach Stuart Lancaster. He is the first England captain to win the writers’ award since Martin Johnson in the World Cup-winning year of 2003 and only the third in the 52 year history of the Rugby Writers.

The first was Bill Beaumont, whose team won a Grand Slam in 1980 and now as chairman of the Rugby Union he saw Robshaw take his award from Rugby Writers’ chairman Adam Hathaway.

A former player who was honoured with a special award was former Wales and British Lions’ fly half Cliff Morgan. Hathaway and former chairman David Hands made the presentation to Morgan at his home on the Isle of Wight. Diners last night saw some examples of Morgan’s work as a commentator for BBC Television.

Another award went to Peter and Rose Tanner from Rosslyn Park in south-west London for their work in running schools’ sevens competitions over many years.

JOIN THE SJA and benefit from a recognised press card, priority entry to key events and significant discounts and members offers on a range of activities