Journalists name Chapman as player of the year

From Mark Woods, Basketball Journalists’ Association

Newcastle Eagles’ guard Joe Chapman has won the Basketball Journalists Association’s Player of the Year award for a second time after leading the Tyneside club to the cusp of a clean sweep of all four domestic trophies.

The 27-year-old American, who averaged 20.2 points per game after bouncing back from injury, received the most votes in the annual ballot of writers and broadcasters who cover the British Basketball League.

Joe Chapman, the BJA's player of the year for a second time

Chapman edged Leicester’s Ayron Hardy into second place with his Riders teammate Cameron Rundles in third in the vote.

Newcastle monopolised all three BJA prizes with centre Andy Thomson winning the Pete Jacques Award for BBL British Player of the Year for the second consecutive season.

Thomson, who claimed the prize last term while with Mersey Tigers, averaged 14 points and 8 rebounds in a pivotal role in the Eagles’ league, Cup and Trophy wins. Great Britain captain Drew Sullivan of Leicester Riders was runner-up with Plymouth Raiders forward Anthony Rowe in third.

And there was more success for Newcastle with player-coach Fab Flournoy taking Coach of the Year for the second time in three years. The New Yorker received almost three times as many votes as second-placed Rob Paternostro of Leicester, his adversary in this Saturday’s BBL play-off final in Birmingham. Paul James of Worcester Wolves came third in the coaching race.

For more information about the BJA, email