Basketball journalists name Carr inaugural woman player of year

(Photo credit: Mansoor Ahmed)

Basketball Journalists Association Press Release

Sevenoaks Suns guard Catherine Carr has won the inaugural Women’s Player of the Year in the Basketball Journalists Association annual awards for the 2018-19 season.

Coming off a stellar Women’s British Basketball League season, where Carr helped Sevenoaks to a title-winning 22-0 record, she did so, averaging 14.7 points and 5.8 assists a game, both team highs during the regular season.

“It is an honour to be named the Women’s Player of the Year,” Carr said of her award. “Basketball in England has been a part of my life for over five years so to be recognised is much appreciated. I owe a lot of credit to my team-mates and coaches over the years, who push me out of my comfort zones and challenge me to be a better player.”

Nottingham Wildcats’ Jasmine Joyner finished second in the voting with Leicester Riders sharpshooter, Holly Winterburn, third. Along with winning the British Basketball League crown this season, London Lions secured a hat trick of accolades in this year’s BJA awards with guard Justin Robinson winning BJA BBL Player of the Year.

Robinson, who led London in scoring with an average of 19.2 points a game, saw-off Manchester Giants’ Willie Clayton, who finished second and Plymouth Raiders’ Donte Nicholas, in third.

“It’s a huge honour for the journalists and everyone involved in the media to vote me as the MVP,” Robinson said. “The award ultimately comes down to team success and with team success, the individual accolades come with it, so it’s an honour and I appreciate the media that cover British basketball for voting.”

London Lions coach Vince Macaulay won the BJA Coach of the Year, after steering his side to a title-winning 27-6 mark in the BBL this season.

I am delighted and humbled in equal measure. I love this game and want us in the UK to shake the shackles off and push the boundaries, so to be recognised in this way is thanks to my team, my assistant coaches and my family’s support – Macauley

“I am delighted and humbled in equal measure,” said Macaulay. “I love this game and want us in the UK to shake the shackles off and push the boundaries, so to be recognised in this way is thanks to my team, my assistant coaches and my family’s support.”

Manchester Giants coach Danny Byrne finished second and three-time BJA Coach of the Year winner, Rob Paternostro in third.  Rounding off London Lions’ three-peat of BJA awards saw Jordan Spencer winning The Pete Jacques Award for Best British Player in the BBL.

Not to be confused with Robinson’s Player of the Year, Spencer’s award is due to his outstanding contribution to the team in all facets of the game, which is what the Pete Jacques Award highlights and what journalists are called to vote on.

The London City Royals duo of Matthew Bryan-Amaning and Ashley Hamilton finished in second and third, respectively. The Syd Lipski International Award for top British performer on the global stage went to Wurzburg’s Gabe Olaseni.

The Great Britain international led the German side to the FIBA Europe Cup finals, but fell just short against Italian side Dinamo Sassari, who were pushed by the Leicester Riders earlier in the group phase.

LSU forward Kavell Bigby-Williams came second after narrowly missing out on a second NCAA Final Four appearance and Ovie Soko of Spanish ACB side, UCAM Murcia was third.

For more information, please contact Basketball Journalists Association secretary, John Hobbs via email:

About the BJA