Olympic prize for four British writers

Four British sports journalists, including SJA members Don Anthony and Philip Barker, have been awarded the 2008 Vikelas Plaque for their work in promoting the history of the Olympic movement.

Also honoured were Stan Greenberg, for many years BBC television’s athletics statistician and Peter Lovesey, the author of the Centenary History of the AAA and many other works on the history of sport.

Don Anthony was forced to miss the presentation because of illness and Antoine de Navacelle, a descendant of Baron Pierre de Coubertin, the founder of the modern Olympic movement, received the plaque on his behalf.

Awarded by the International Society of Olympic Historians (ISOH) as part of its commitment to further interest in the history of the Games , the prize is named after Dmitrios Vikelas, the Greek who was president of the International Olympic Committee at the time of the 1896 Olympic Games in Athens. The first winners of the Vikelas Plaque were three Olympic historians and academics from Greece.

The presentation was made this month at the headquarters of the British Olympic Association in Wandsworth by ISOH president Karl Lennartz (Germany) and secretary general Anthony Bijkerk (Netherlands).

Your SJA subscription is due NOW – click here if you have not paid already for details of how to make your payment