The Sun signs Kidd as its new chief sports writer

Dave Kidd is to become the chief sports writer at The Sun – only the fourth person to hold that job incumbent since the paper was launched as a Murdoch-owned tabloid in 1969.

Dave Kidd: new role at Mirror
Dave Kidd: moving to The Sun

For Kidd, who held the same title at the Daily Mirror, it marks a return to where his national career started as a freelance 20 years ago.

His predecessor at The Sun, Steven Howard, retired in April after 38 years on the paper in a variety of roles. Kidd thus follows in the footsteps of Howard, John Sadler and Peter Batt.

“It’s a great honour to follow them,” said Kidd. “My predecessor told me I was only the fourth chief sports writer on the paper and two of them, Steve Howard and John Sadler, were hugely encouraging when I was a rookie. I’m delighted to be going back to the paper where my national career started as a 22-year-old.”

Kidd has spent nine years at Trinity Mirror in a number of roles. He was deputy sports editor and columnist for the Sunday People, moved across to the Sunday Mirror as chief football writer while penning a column for the daily title, then became chief football writer of the Daily Mirror.

When Oliver Holt moved to the Mail on Sunday in January last year, Kidd stepped up to become chief sports writer.

“I had an amazing opportunity to work for nine years on three national titles in different roles and under an eclectic mix of sports editors and I will always be very grateful to the Mirror,” Kidd said.

Kidd first walked through the doors at Wapping in 1996 as a full-time sports freelance having been at the Romford Recorder for three years. He became a sub in 1999 and a reporter in 2000 before leaving seven years later to join The People.

Elsewhere at Trinity Mirror, more than 20 editorial jobs are to be axed in Glasgow with the merger of operations at the Daily Record and Sunday Mail.

  • Thu Dec 15, 2016: SJA British Sports Awards, sponsored by The National Lottery
  • Mon Feb 27, 2017: SJA British Sports Journalism Awards, sponsored by BT Sport