SJA AGM: Fitzhenry’s farewell to committee, Chair’s report, Lewis presidency ratified

The 2024 Annual General Meeting of the Sports Journalists’ Association was held on Thursday 6 June in central London; three step down from Committee, including long-serving former secretary Mary Fitzhenry; in Chair’s report, Ashley Broadley notes talent shining through; Darren Lewis’ presidency confirmed…

By Jon Holmes

The SJA AGM was held in the Terrace Suite at the Park Plaza County Hall

The Sports Journalists’ Association held its Annual General Meeting on 6 June 2024.

The AGM began with the ratification of Darren Lewis as SJA President, following his appointment as President-Elect in July 2023.

SJA Chair Ashley Broadley shared his Report looking back on the previous 12 months, noting how sports media talent is continuing to shine through amid so much change in the industry. You can read the Report in full here.

SJA Treasurer James Green invited attendees to view the accounts document, noting the importance of sponsorship to the Association for its two major annual events, the British Sports Journalism Awards and the British Sports Awards.

Amendments to the SJA Constitution were confirmed and have now been added to the website here.

Stepping down from the Committee are Mary Fitzhenry, Mark Alford and Ian Rice.

Mary first joined the SJA Committee in 1988, going on to serve as Secretary.

She was a press officer for the Sports Council, Sport England, the English Institute of Sport and the Commonwealth Games before working in her own sports-related PR firm.

She returned to the Committee in 2008 and took on the role of Chair of the Awards Committee.

She said: “It has been a delight to work with so many talented, passionate, entertaining and dedicated SJA members over the years.

“I joined at the insistence of Pat Bedford when it was still the Sports Writers’ Association and it was a privilege to work alongside so many legends in the business.

“I leave the SJA in good hands, exciting times await.”

Alford, the director of Sky Sports News, and freelance photographer Rice joined the Committee in 2022 and 2019 respectively.

Joining the Committee for the next cycle are former Football Writers’ Association chair Carrie Brown and freelance journalist Brian Spicer, both of whom are SJA members.

Sports Journalists’ Association 2024/25


President: Darren Lewis
Chair: Ashley Broadley
Vice-Chair: Leon Mann
Secretary: Philip Barker
Treasurer / Events: James Green

General Committee

Jon Batham, Louise Bawden, Paul Gilham, Jon Holmes, Rachel Steinberg, James Toney, Howard Wheatcroft, Kathryn Anastasi, Mayowa Quadri, Emma Smith, Laura Williamson, Carrie Brown, Brian Spicer.

To learn more about the SJA Committee, visit our ‘Meet the Team’ page here