Time running out for SJA voting

Time is running out to vote online for the 58th annual Sportsman, Sportswoman and Team of the Year Awards.

The SJA Awards is one of the highlights of the sporting calendar, and past winners of the awards have included Len Hutton, Roger Bannister, Tony Jacklin, Jackie Stewart, Daley Thompson and Sebastian Coe, Lillian Board, Princess Anne, Virginia Wade and Sharron Davies.

In 2005, the men’s and women’s awards went to Andrew Flintoff and Paula Radcliffe.

Now it is your chance to influence the outcome of the 2006 awards by casting your votes. “Traditional” ballot forms will be distributed by post soon, but online voting is already open here.

In 1966, the England football team’s World Cup victory prompted the start of the Team of the Year Award, and to commemorate the 40th anniversary of those Wembley wonders, this year’s nominated charity at the SJA Sports Awards is the Bobby Moore Fund, which works with Cancer Research UK.

Whatever voting system you use, you are only allowed to vote once. Voting is restricted to SJA members only – something which helps to make the SJA Sports Awards the most cherished and respected among the country’s sportsmen and women, because they realise that the selection is being made by people who really know their sport – professional journalists who work in sport, day-in and day-out.

If you want some suggestions as to the leading candidates for your votes this year, then take a look at some of these previous articles:

Tweddle leaps into contention
Balfour’s declaration of intent

Hatton and Calzaghe fight to top of Awards list
Don graduates to world title
SJA Sports Awards: rewarding teamwork
British sailors shine in Beijing
Zara’s crowning moment

You can be part of this fabulous Awards occasion by booking your tickets here.
And don’t forget to post your votes online here

First posted on October 8