Vote for the SJA Pundit of the Year – new winner in this category is guaranteed

Sports Journalists’ Association members vote to decide the winner of the Pundit category; none of the 10 contenders for the prize at the SJA British Sports Journalism Awards 2022 are previous winners; gala ceremony in London on March 6…

‘Tone, expertise and delivery’ – the three main broadcasting qualities that those judging the SJA Pundit category look for when compiling the shortlist.

The previous winners of this honour at the SJA British Sports Journalism Awards include Emma Hayes, Michael Holding, Gary Neville and Osi Umenyiora.

The hunt is on to recognise the pundit, summariser, studio analyst or guest whose work has been the most impressive in the past year. Who has connected best to their audience?

Once again, it will be up to the SJA membership to decide the winner, who will be revealed at the gala ceremony at the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge, sponsored by the National Lottery and Canon, on Monday March 6.

Here are the 10 contenders chosen for 2022. Over to you…


Alan Shearer – BBC Sport
Alex Scott – BBC Sport
Ally McCoist – talkSPORT
Chris Sutton – BBC Radio 5 Live
David Coulthard – Whisper
Ian Wright – ITV Sport
Jason Bell – Sky Sports
Jon Wilkin – BBC Sport
Nasser Hussain – Sky Sports
Roy Keane – ITV Sport / Sky Sports