Woods, Roan and Murray go for glory again as Broadcast categories revealed for British Sports Journalism Awards

talkSPORT’s Laura Woods chasing third straight Presenter success, while BBC duo Dan Roan and John Murray hope to repeat past wins in Broadcast Journalist and Commentator categories; BBC, Sky, ITV and talkSPORT well represented on shortlists; tickets on sale now for ceremony on March 6…

Laura Woods and Dan Roan are among the Broadcast section winners from last year’s SJA British Sports Journalism Awards ceremony who will attempt to claim their categories again, while John Murray will be going for a third SJA Commentator trophy.

talkSPORT’s Woods will aim to make it a consecutive hat-trick of Presenter triumphs after being named among the contenders once more.

However, she faces fierce competition from BBC Sport duo Gabby Logan and Mark Chapman, ITV Sport anchors Ed Chamberlin and Mark Pougatch, plus Amanda Davies (CNN) and Ade Oladipo (DAZN).

Meanwhile, Roan (BBC Sports News) is up against the previous winner Steve Scott (ITN / ITV News) for Broadcast Journalist, with Antoine Allen and Gabriel Clarke also representing the ITV stable. Des Kelly (BT Sport), Kaveh Solhekol (Sky Sports News) and Rob Harris (Sky News) complete a big-hitting bracket.

John Murray (left) is a two-time SJA winner

BBC Radio 5 Live’s Murray took the Commentator honours in both 2016 and 2018, and BBC Sport has two more on the 2022 shortlist in Guy Mowbray and Robyn Cowen. Conor McNamara (freelance) and the Sky Sports cricket duo of Mike Atherton and Nasser Hussain are the other nominees.

Overall, the broadcast companies making the most appearances on the shortlists are the BBC, Sky, ITV and talkSPORT.

Sports Content Organisation is a new headline award that sits across both the Broadcast and Writing categories. Judges were looking for the organisation that best serves their audience using original journalism, style and innovation.

Shortlisted here are BBC Sport, CNN Sport, Daily Mail, Sky Sports, talkSPORT and The Athletic.

Andrew Spence, the co-founder of Unedited, is the chair of the Broadcast judges.

“I would like to thank all those who worked really hard on submitting excellent entries for this year’s SJAs,” said Spence.

“The quality of the entries was at unbelievable levels, which has made the judges’ jobs even harder.

“2022 saw some great sporting moments, events and conversations, which have been encapsulated in the entries we have received across the medium of broadcast, be it TV, radio, social media and new media streaming platforms.

“I can’t wait to see you all at this year’s ceremony, to celebrate excellence.”

The awards will be handed out at the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge on Monday 6 March 2023. Tickets and tables are available to purchase now.



Away From Home – The Athletic
Brown Gal Can’t Swim – BBC
Inside the Qatar World Cup – Football Ramble
Moment of Truth – Folding Pocket Productions
The Athletic Football Podcast: The Kanjuruhan stadium disaster – The Athletic
The Year It Came Home: How The Lionesses Won The Euros – BBC Radio 5 Live


Fight Disciples – Independent
GameDay Exclusive – talkSPORT
Saturdays on 5 Live Sport – BBC Radio 5 Live
Sportsworld – BBC World Service / BBC Sports News
talkSPORT Breakfast – talkSPORT
White & Jordan – talkSPORT


2022 Women’s EURO for BBC Sport – Whisper
Champions League Final Chaos – Sky Sports News
FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 – talkSPORT
ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Final for Sky Sports Cricket – ICC TV / Sunset+Vine
Qatar World Cup 2022 – ITV Sport
Super League Rugby for Channel 4 – IMG
Women’s EURO 2022 Final – BBC Radio 5 Live


Antoine Allen – ITV News / ITV Sport
Dan Roan – BBC Sports News
Des Kelly – BT Sport
Gabriel Clarke – ITV Sport
Kaveh Solhekol – Sky Sports News
Rob Harris – Sky News
Steve Scott – ITN / ITV News


Conor McNamara – Freelance
Guy Mowbray – BBC Sport
John Murray – BBC Radio 5 Live
Mike Atherton – Sky Sports
Nasser Hussain – Sky Sports
Robyn Cowen – BBC Sport


Alex Howell – BBC Sports News
Betty Glover – BBC Sports News
Olly Clink – talkSPORT
Owynn Palmer-Atkin – BBC Radio Leicester
Pien Meulensteen – BBC Radio 5 Live
Sanny Rudravajhala – Freelance


Abi Paterson – The Athletic
Maryam Chaudhary – Sky Sports News
Niamh Carr – BBC Radio 5 Live
Shemi Adenekan – Sky Sports News
Emily Brooks – BBC Sports News
Matt Horsman – Sunset+Vine

The winner of the Ones to Watch categories will be announced on the SJA website on February 27. All those shortlisted will be contacted shortly and invited to attend the awards as a guest of the SJA.


Brown Gal Can’t Swim – BBC Radio Leicester
Rugby Union Weekly – BBC Radio 5 Live
The Gab & Juls Show – ESPN
The Sports Desk – BBC Sports News
The Totally Football Show – The Athletic
Transfer Talk – Sky Sports
World Football in Qatar – BBC World Service Sport / BBC Sports News


Ade Oladipo – DAZN
Amanda Davies – CNN
Ed Chamberlin – ITV Sport
Gabby Logan – BBC Sport
Laura Woods – talkSPORT
Mark Chapman – BBC Sport
Mark Pougatch – ITV Sport


Alan Shearer – BBC Sport
Alex Scott – BBC Sport
Ally McCoist – talkSPORT
Chris Sutton – BBC Radio 5 Live
David Coulthard – Whisper
Ian Wright – ITV Sport
Jason Bell – Sky Sports
Jon Wilkin – BBC Sport
Nasser Hussain – Sky Sports
Roy Keane – ITV Sport / Sky Sports

The winner of the Pundit category will be decided by a vote of SJA members, who are invited to make their choice now – click here!


BBC Sport
CNN Sport
Daily Mail
Sky Sports
The Athletic


All or Nothing: Arsenal for Prime Video – 72 Films
Aquaphobia – Sky Sports
Ben Stokes: Phoenix from the Ashes – Whisper
Football’s Toughest Opponent – Sky Sports
Jake Daniels – Sky Sports News
Kyle Sinckler – Strength of Purpose – ITV Sport
Rob Burrow: Living with MND – BBC Breakfast


Football Focus – BBC Sport
Formula One on Channel 4 – Whisper
HD Cutz – Fever Media / Motif Pictures
Inside the WSL – Sky Sports
Soccer Saturday – Sky Sports
World Sport – CNN

A reminder of the winners at last year’s SJA British Sports Journalism Awards ceremony