VIDEO: Martin Samuel hits awards judges for six

Martin Samuel was named the Sportswriter of the Year for a record-equalling sixth time at the BT Sport-sponsored British Sports Journalism Awards, staged in central London on March 23.

Martin Samuel, right, receives the John Bromley Trophy, again, from Carle Ann Bromley and SJA chairman David Walker
Martin Samuel, right, receives the John Bromley Trophy, again, from Carle Ann Bromley and SJA chairman David Walker

Samuel has dominated the John Bromley Trophy award for the nation’s leading sports writer over the past decade, whether working for the News of the World, The Times or now at the Daily Mail. The winner in 2005, 2006, 2007, 2010 and 2013, his 2014 win puts him on level terms with Hugh McIlvanney and one ahead of Ian Wooldridge; between them, McIlvanney and Wooldridge shared the first Sports Writer of the Year Award in i976.

Samuel also won the Sports Columnist of the Year prize, the judges choosing his work ahead of a formidable entry, saying that, “His views are strong and fresh, frequently contrary to that held by the general public, but always backed up by good factual information.”

There was a record entry for the sports writing categories this year, with new categories to enter including Best Sports Package, for the work of a sports desk on a one-off supplement or spread (won by the Mirror for its Cheltenham pull-out guide), and Football, Cricket and Rugby writers of the year, accolades which went to a formidable trio of Henry Winter, Mike Atherton and Stephen Jones.

2014 SJA British Sports Journalism Awards

Writing category results

SJA Sports Writer of the Year 2014
Winner: Martin Samuel – Daily Mail
Top six: Michael Atherton; Patrick Collins; Paul Hayward; Ian Herbert; and Daniel Taylor

Sports Newspaper of the Year
Winner: Daily Mail
Top six: Daily Telegraph; Sunday Times; The Guardian; The Sun; and The Times

SJA Doug Gardner Award for services to sports journalism
Mike Ingham

Best Special Package
Winner: Daily Mirror – Cheltenham
Highly Commended: The Times – For the Good of the Game
Highly Commended: Racing Post – World Cup Betting Guide

Laureus Sports Website
Winner: Guardian
Highly Commended: Telegraph
Highly Commended: BBC Sport

Specialist Sports Website

Winner: Sporting Intelligence
Highly Commended: Project Babb
Highly Commended: Boxing News

Sports Scoop
Heidi Blake and Jonathan Calvert – Sunday Times
Highly Commended: Matt Lawton – Daily Mail / Mail on Sunday
Highly Commended: Paul Hayward – Telegraph

Ladbrokes Specialist Correspondent
Paul Mahoney – Freelance
Highly Commended: Alan Lee – The Times
Highly Commended: James Corrigan – Telegraph

Investigative Sports Reporter
Heidi Blake and Jonathan Calvert – Sunday Times
Highly Commended: Owen Gibson – Guardian
Highly Commended: Nick Harris – Mail on Sunday

Sports Columnist
Martin Samuel – Daily Mail
Highly Commended: Matthew Syed – The Times
Highly Commended: Patrick Collins – Mail on Sunday

Sports Feature Writer
Paul Hayward – Telegraph
Highly Commended: David Walsh – Sunday Times
Highly Commended: Donald McRae – Guardian

Sports News Reporter
Matt Lawton – Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday
Highly Commended: Martyn Ziegler – Press Association
Highly Commended: Nick Hoult – Telegraph

Cricket Writer
Mike Atherton – The Times
Highly Commended: Vic Marks – Guardian / Observer
Highly Commended: Sclyd Berry – Telegraph

Football Writer
Henry Winter – Telegraph
Highly Commended: Daniel Taylor – Guardian / Observer
Highly Commended: Rory Smith – The Times

Rugby Writer
Stephen Jones – Sunday Times
Highly Commended: Steve James – Telegraph
Highly Commended: Mick Cleary – Telegraph

Regional Writer
Jon Colman – CN Group
Highly Commended: Doug Gillon – The Herald, Glasgow
Highly Commended: Mark Douglas – Newcastle Chronical and Journal

Young Sports Writer
James Gheerbrant – BBC Sport / The Times
Highly Commended: Jack Gaughan – Daily Mail
Highly Commended: Adam Crafton – Daily Mail

David Welch Student Sports Writer
Mark Critchley, City University London
Highly Commended: Peter Fielding, Pates Grammar School, Cheltenham
Highly Commended: Alex Walker, Edinburgh University

  • The SJA is the largest member organisation of sports media professionals in the world. You can become a member: Click here for more details