Accreditation process opens for Rugby League World Cup 2021

5 May 2021
Manchester, England
For immediate release
Members of the media can now register for accreditation to attend Rugby League World Cup 2021. 

This is an online process that can be completed via the Media Accreditation Portal and only applies to written press, photographers and non-rights holding TV and radio broadcasters. More information on the RLWC2021 is available here.

If you believe your circumstances warrant media accreditation, then please apply and RLWC2021 will give due consideration to your request.

As part of the application process, members of the media will need to upload a colour headshot photograph with a plain background (like a passport photo) – jpeg file.

RLWC2021 reserves the right to approve/reject/request further information on all applications in its sole discretion and without providing reasons for doing so.

Applications will be reviewed frequently so the earlier you apply the earlier you will be notified if you have been successful.

Whilst selecting matches, the media is advised to bear in mind the following:

  • Your tournament pass doesn’t guarantee you a space in the media working area on a match day. Therefore, for each match, there will be a match-day accreditation list which the RLWC2021 will prepare ahead of each match.
  • Match notifications for the tournament will begin closer to the event and will be published on the online portal. You will be able to log into your account and see the matches for which you have been allocated a seat in the press box, or a photo position.

Non-Rights Holders (NRHs) camerapersons will be accredited for the tournament, but only reporters will be accredited on match days.

Media requiring visa letters are advised to contact the media accreditation team at:  

The latest UK Government guidance on travel is available here.

About Rugby League World Cup 2021

The Rugby League World Cup is the pinnacle major event of Rugby League, globally contested every four years. RLWC2021 will start on 23 October 2021 and will be a breakthrough moment in the tournament’s history with the men’s, women’s and wheelchair competitions being staged together for the first time.

The three tournaments will take place across 21 venues throughout England. Both the women’s and wheelchair competitions will be contested by two groups of four teams, whilst the men’s tournament will see 16 teams compete across four groups.

RLWC2021 will be the most visible rugby league event in history with all 61 games in the men’s, women’s and wheelchair competitions being broadcast live on the BBC.

Vision: Delivering the biggest and best ever Rugby League World Cup.

Mission: Creating inspirational moments that excite, engage and leave a long-lasting legacy.

Rugby League World Cup 2021 is a trading name of The Rugby Football League Limited. This message and any attachments are strictly confidential and may contain legally privileged information. The contents of the transmission are intended for the named addressee(s) only. If you are not the addressee please do not read, print, store or re-transmit it or any attachments to it. Instead, please email it back to the sender and then immediately permanently delete it from your system. The views or opinions presented here are solely of the author and do not necessarily represent those of The Rugby League World Cup 2021 is not bound by any contract or obligation created by this e-mail and excludes all liability to you or any third party in respect of its contents (to the maximum extent permitted by the law). The Rugby League World Cup 2021 is a company registered in England with company number 0759 2215 The Registered Office VAT No 276 5774 53 UIT2021