Wooldridge garners another honour

Ian Wooldridge, long-time stalwart of the Sports Journalists’ Association, was honoured at the London Press Club awards at Claridge’s earlier this year.
The Daily Mail columnist was presented with the Edgar Wallace Award for fine writing, one of British journalism’s most prestigious prizes, which has previously been won by the likes of Keith Waterhouse, Simon Jenkins and Martin Bell.
Donald Trelford, the chairman of the Press Club, said Wooldridge was “more than just a sports writer, he is a journalist of the highest calibre and master of the written word”. The award was presented by David Cameron MP, leader of the Tory party.
The SJA sends Woolers – a five-time winner of our own Sports Writer of the Year award – our warm congratulations.