Sports Journalism Awards: broadcast shortlists

Introduced in 2005, the SJA’s Sports Broadcast Awards recognise the sports broadcaster and sports programme which are most admired by their colleagues – the country’s sports journalists.

Sky Sport’s Jeff Stelling was the first SJA Sports Broadcaster of the Year 12 months ago, and Hartlepool’s biggest fan is among the shortlisted candidates again for his 2006 work, but he faces tough opposition, from the doyen of the golf commentary box, Peter Alliss, to top BBC radio reporter Garry Richardson, and the urbane John Inverdale.

To see the broadcasters and programmes shortlists in full, see below:

Sports broadcaster
Clare Balding
Steve Cram
Peter Alliss
John Inverdale
Garry Richardson
Jeff Stelling

Sports programme
C4 Racing
Match of the Day (BBC1)
Soccer AM (Sky Sports)
Soccer Saturday (Sky Sports)
SportsWeek (BBC Radio Five Live)
Test Match Special (BBC Radio)

To read the sports writing and cartoonists’ awards shortlists, click here.

Check out the British Sports Photography Awards shortlist by clicking here

And make sure you don’t miss out on attending what promises to be a great night for all sports journalists by booking your ticket by clicking here