British Sports Journalism Awards: writing shortlists

The British Sports Journalism Awards, organised by the SJA and sponsored by UK Sport, is the country’s leading awards ceremony recognising excellence in sports writing, photography, editing, broadcasting and cartoon drawing. This year, the presentation dinner will be staged at The Brewery, Chiswell St, on March 12.

There have been more entries than ever before this year, and the SJA’s judges have had a tough task whittling down the candidates in a range of categories. The awards shortlists in the writing and cartoonist categories are as follows:

Specialist Correspondent
Bill Elliott – Freelance
Doug Gillon – The Herald, Glasgow
Alan Lee – The Times
Lewine Mair – Daily Telegraph
Brough Scott – Sunday Telegraph
Henry Winter – Daily Telegraph

Sports Columnist
Patrick Collins – Mail on Sunday
Simon Barnes – The Times
Oliver Holt – Daily Mirror
Paul Hayward – Daily Mail
Frank Malley – PA Sport
Sue Mott – Daily Telegraph

Sports Feature Writer
Patrick Collins – Mail on Sunday
Jamie Jackson – The Observer
Paul Kimmage – The Sunday Times
James Lawton – The Independent
Donald McRae – The Guardian

Sports Interviewer
Paul Kimmage – The Sunday Times
Matt Lawton – Daily Mail
Andrew Longmore – The Sunday Times
Sue Mott – Daily Telegraph
Ian Stafford – Mail on Sunday
Brian Viner – The Independent

Regional Writer
Christopher Bascombe – Liverpool Echo
Matthew Chambers – Evening News, Norwich
Jon Colman – News & Star, Carlisle
Doug Gillon – The Herald, Glasgow
Andrew Smith – Scotland on Sunday
Neil Farrington – Sunday Sun

Sports News Reporter
Neil Ashton – Daily Mail
Mihir Bose – Daily Telegraph
Shaun Custis – The Sun
Rob Draper – Mail on Sunday
Harry Harris – Daily Express
Adrian Warner – Evening Standard

Sports Diarist
Roy Collins – Sunday Telegraph
Alan Hubbard – Independent on Sunday
Paul Kelso – The Guardian
Charles Sale – Daily Mail
Martyn Ziegler – Press Association

Sports Story
Jason Burke – The Observer – Italy’s football scandal
Harry Harris – Daily Express – Wembley stadium
Stephen Jones – The Sunday Times – World Cup win “a disaster”
Paul Kelso – The Guardian – Zara Phillips’ New Year honour
Daniel King – Mail on Sunday – Anfield in £450m Dubai buyout

Sports Team
Daily Telegraph – football World Cup
The Racing Post – Desert Orchid
The Sunday Times – Ryder Cup
The Sunday Times – football World Cup
The Times – football World Cup

Sports Cartoonist
Charles Griffin – Freelance
Kerber & Black – Daily Mirror
Kevin Macey – Freelance
Pete McKee – Sheffield Telegraph
Nick Newman – The Sunday Times

Shortlists for the SJA Broadcast Awards and the SJA British Sports Photography Awards will be released in due course, while the SJA Sports Writer of the Year Award will be announced on the night after being selected by the sports editors of the national newspapers.

Full details of how to book your tickets for the year’s biggest celebration of the best of British sports journalism can be found by clicking here.

Check out the British Sports Photography Awards shortlist by clicking here