Sports Journalism Awards: photography shortlists

The British Sports Journalism Awards, sponsored by UK Sport, with its presentation dinner to be staged at The Brewery, Chiswell Street, London, on March 12, will again be a celebration of the best of sports photography, and this year will also feature an exhibition of the work of more than 40 photographers in addition to the shortlisted candidates.

The photography awards shortlists are as follows:

Young sports photographer (for the David Worthy Trophy)
Julian Finney – Getty Images
Joe Giddens – Empics

Sports portfolio
Stu Forster – Getty Images
Ryan Pierse – Getty Images
Dave Shopland – Mail on Sunday

Specialist sports portfolio (for the Phil Sheldon Trophy)
Clive Mason – Getty Images
Edward Whitaker – Racing Post

Sports news picture
Adrian Dennis- AFP
Mike Egerton – Empics
Alex Livesey – Getty Images
Michael Regan – Action Images
John Sibley – Action Images

Leo Mason, chairman of the photography judges, writes: I would like to thank all judges for giving us their valuable time and Sandra Phillips, Bob Martin and Tom Lovelock, who arranged the viewing venue and digital equipment.

Our judging panel this year consisted of: Mike Kemp (executive picture editor, Corbis); Pascal Rondeau (picture editor, L’Equipe); Chris Smith (The Sunday Times); Thomas Szlukovenyi (Reuters’ global picture editor); and Graham Wood (picture editor, The Sunday Times Magazine)

To read the sports writing and cartoonists’ awards shortlists, click here.

And make sure you don’t miss out on attending what promises to be a great night for all sports journalists by booking your ticket by clicking here