Ronaldo retains Football Writers’ award

Manchester United’s Cristiano Ronaldo has been named the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year for the second consecutive year.

The Portugal winger becomes only the second player – after Thierry Henry in 2004 – to retain the title.

And it follows the 23-year-old’s PFA Player of the Year award on Sunday, which he also claimed last season.

Liverpool striker Fernando Torres and Portsmouth keeper David James finished second and third respectively.

“To score 38 goals in a season – so far – is an astonishing feat for a winger,” said FWA chairman Paul Hetherington.

“He did not exactly get 100 percent of the vote, but from the moment voting started he moved to the front and stayed there.

“Given his age, he has the potential and ability to dominate this award for years in an unprecedented way.”

Stanley Matthews won the first Footballer of the Year award in 1948.

Click here to visit the FWA website

Join the SJA today – click here for details and membership application form