Richardson and Jackson take Hockey Writers’ awards

Ashley Jackson, the 22-year-old England and HGC (Netherlands) midfield player, has been named the UK Player of the Year for 2009 following the annual poll conducted amongst British members of the Hockey Writers’ Club.

Helen Richardson, pictured right, the 28-year-old England and Reading central midfield player who spent the first part of a highly successful year with Dutch European champions Den Bosch, was the winner of the women’s award.

England’s captain Kate Walsh, currently a colleague of Richardson at Reading and twice a previous winner, was runner-up with Tina Cullen, who first won the prestigious award in 1999 and at 39 is still the National League’s leading goalscorer, took third place.

Jackson’s clubmate in the Netherlands and the England captain, Barry Middleton, was second in the men’s poll followed by Reading’s Richard Mantell.

The winners both gave a string of impressive performances for country and clubs during the year and look likely to be prominent contributors to Great Britain’s 2012 Olympic challenge.

Richardson received the traditional Rose Bowl and cheque at a presentation lunch at the Royal Thames Yacht Club from Leandro Negre, the president of the International Hockey Federation.

She donated her cheque to the Youth Section of her first club ” West Bridgford Monarchs HC.

Owing to a rearranged tour to Spain, the England men were unable to receive their trophies. Wesley Jackson was present to receive Ashley’s trophy and it is hoped to re-present it at the Indoor Hockey Finals at Trent FM Arena, Nottingham, on Sunday January 31.

Jackson (pictured in action aboved) donated his cheque to the Junior Section of East Grinstead HC.

Plaques and cheques were also presented to Sarah Haycroft (University of Birmingham) and Rachel Condon on behalf of David Condon (Loughborough Students), winners of the Higgins Group UK Youth Hockey Awards by Richard Higgins, Chairman of the Higgins Group.

The Times Sydney Friskin Memorial Goblet for outstanding services to hockey was presented to Andy Tapley by the newspaper’s Managing Editor, David Chappell, accompanied by Neil Friskin, Sydney’s son.

Margaret Gleghorne; Paul Barber
1984 Karen Brown; Richard Leman
1985 Linda Carr; Sean Kerly, MBE
1986 Moira McLeod; Ian Taylor
1987 Violet McBride; Imran Sherwani
1988 Barbara Hambly, OBE; Jon Potter
1989 Vickey Dixon; David Faulkner
1990 Maggie Souyave; Andy Halliday
1991 Joanne Thompson; Jason Laslett
1992 Jane Sixsmith, MBE; Rob Hill
1993 Sandie Lister; Julian Halls
1994 Karen Brown; Simon Mason
1995 Tammy Miller; Ian Jennings, MBE
1996 Kathryn Johnson; Bobby Crutchley
1997 Karen Brown; Jon Wyatt
1998 Carolyn Reid; David Hacker
1999 Christina Cullen; Chris Ashcroft
2000 Jane Sixsmith, MBE; Mark Pearn
2001 Jane Smith; Danny Hall
2002 Leisa King; Robert Todd
2003 Kate Walsh; Simon Mason
2004 Christina Cullen; Barry Middleton
2005 Crista Cullen; Jonathan Ebsworth
2006 Crista Cullen; James Tindall
2007 Kate Walsh; Barry Middleton
2008 Beth Storry; Ali McGregor

Click here for more recent articles on journalism, sport and sports journalism

SJA members can cast their votes for the best in sports broadcasting by clicking here.