2010-2011 Ashes tour dates announced

From the England and Wales Cricket Board
ECB and Cricket Australia today announced the schedule for the 3 mobile Ashes Series in Australia in 2010-11.

England will begin their defence of the Ashes in Brisbane with the 1st Test of the five-match series being staged at The Gabba from November 25 to 29, 2010.

Matches in Adelaide and Perth will follow, with Melbourne’s Boxing Day Test and Sydney’s New Year’s Test completing the series. The schedule for the One-Day Series will be released at a later date.

ECB and Cricket Australia have also agreed that the England team will play three first-class matches prior to the 1st Test and a further first-class game in between the 2nd and 3rd Test Matches.

SJA members can cast their votes for the Sportsman, Sportswoman and Team of the Year by clicking here.

ECB Chief Executive David Collier said: “The recent npower Ashes Test series between the two sides was the sporting highlight of the summer and has really whetted the appetite of all cricket supporters as England seek to retain the Ashes next winter. It promises to be a great contest and I am sure many thousands of England cricket fans will be eager to purchase tickets when they go on sale and get behind the team in Australia.”

Cricket Australia Chief Executive Officer James Sutherland said he was looking forward to another thrilling contest between world cricket’s biggest rivals. “Australian cricket fans always love an Ashes Series and demand for tickets is going to be strong, so it is important to put the dates in diaries now,” he said.

“We also expect to have a lot of UK fans here again.

“I know we have only just finished an Ashes series in England but I also know that the Aussie players – and Australian cricket in general – are already thinking about the Ashes series down under which starts in just over 12 months.

“Australia has a very good Ashes record at home and I’m hopeful that will continue next summer and we can bring the Urn back to Australia.”

3 mobile Ashes Series 2010-11
25 – 29 November Brisbane

3 – 7 December Adelaide

16 – 20 December Perth

26 – 30 December Melbourne

3 – 7 January Sydney

* Note – Cricket Australia reserves the right in its absolute discretion to change or amend the international programme at any time, without notice.

In total, 154 Ashes Test matches have been played, with Australia winning 77, England 53 and 24 drawn.

For further information please contact:
Rhian Evans : Media Manager- First Class Cricket
England and Wales Cricket Board : Lord’s Cricket Ground, London, NW8 8QZ

Tel: +44(0)20 7432 1245 : Mobile: +44(0)7500 884478 : Switchboard: +44 (0)20 7432 1200
Email: : Web:

Click here for more recent articles on journalism, sport and sports journalism

Book tickets for the glittering SJA 61st annual British Sports Awards, being staged in London on December 9 – click here for details and booking form