BOA gets down to business

From the BOA
The British Olympic Association announced today the formation of its advisory board, drawn from leading British business figures and opinion formers.

The advisory board will be offering their advice and experience to the BOA as it implements its business plan, strengthens its service delivery to sports governing bodies and pursues its objective to select, lead and manage Britain’s Olympic team to fourth place in the London 2012 Olympic Games.

Lord Moynihan, the BOA chairman, said:
“The Advisory Board members include outstanding businessmen and women with strong commercial expertise. They are industry leaders and opinion formers with a wide array of professional experience and many of them bring a strong business mindset to the table. This initiative will ensure we are fully responsive to our responsibilities as a host nation National Olympic Committee and their input will help us design services to deliver our lead objective of fourth place in the medal table in London.

“We aim to build our organisation on firm business principles. We welcome the strong support British business expertise has offered us in helping us achieve our aims and objectives.”

Members of the advisory board who are unpaid, have met for their first time to receive a presentation from Sir Clive Woodward, the director of the BOA’s Elite Performance team. In December a further meeting will be held to review the BOA’s 2008 Strategic Plan which will include the proposed centenary celebrations of the first time London hosted the Olympic Games in 1908, a review of the BOA’s FTSE initiative which has significantly strengthened many of the BOA’s Olympic governing bodies of Sport and the BOA’s business plan.

A full list of the current members of the Advisory Board is attached. Further appointments are expected to be made in due course:

Roger Alwen – Director, Charlton Athletic Football Club

Ambassador Gianna Angelopoulos-Daskalaki – Chairman, Athens 2004 Olympic Organising Committee

Clive Ansell – Group Strategy Director, BT

Sir Victor Blank – Chairman, Lloyds TSB Group plc

Darcey Bussell CBE – Ballerina

Johnny Cameron – Director & Chief Executive (Corporate Markets), RBS Group plc

Johan Eliasch – Chairman & Chief Executive, Head NV

Sir Bill Gammell – Chief Executive, Cairn Energy plc

Dr Chris Gibson-Smith – Chairman, London Stock Exchange

Colin Grannell – Executive Vice President, Visa Europe

Tony Hayward – Chief Executive, BP

Sir Graham Hearne – Chairman, Catlin Group Ltd

Jeremy Isaacs – Chief Executive Officer – Europe & Asia, Lehman Brothers

General Sir Mike Jackson – Former Chief of the General Staff, Army

Sam Laidlaw – Chief Executive, Centrica plc

Jim Leng – Chairman, Corus Group plc

Lord Lloyd-Webber – Impresario

Sir Gulam Noon MBE – Chairman, Noon Group

Lord Patten – Director, Lockheed Martin UK Ltd

Lord Paul – Chairman, Caparo Group Ltd

Professor Shirley Pearce – Vice Chancellor, Loughborough University

Tony Pidgley – Managing Director, The Berkeley Group

John Pritchard – Director, Piper Pritchard Associates Ltd

Lord Rothermere – Chairman, Daily Mail & General Trust plc

Mark Sawyer – General Manager Group Business Development, Xstrata

Patrick Snowball – Deputy Chairman, The Towergate Partnership

Kate Swann – Chief Executive, W H Smith

Rumi Verjee – Chairman, Thomas Goode

Patience Wheatcroft – Former Editor, Sunday Telegraph

David Yarrow – Founding Partner, Clareville Capital

For more information, please contact Miriam Wilkens or Becki Middleton in the BOA Media Office on 020 8871 2677 ext 227 or 215.

VOTE NOW! Online voting for the SJA Sportsman, Sportswoman and Team of the Year is now open – click here for details

Categories: BOA