Telegraph’s Smith rides off into the sunset

By Barry Newcombe
Alan Smith, equestrian writer for the Daily Telegraph for 48 years, is to become president of the British Equestrian Writers’ Association when he steps down from daily journalism next month.

Smith, current BEWA chairman, said at the assocation’s annual lunch yesterday: “It is a difficult decision to leave BEWA but at least I am leaving it in good hands. I will leave the Daily Telegraph at the end of the year – I have been dithering about it since 2000.”

Brian Giles, of the Daily Mail, praised Smith for his example and said: “Without him I would not have stayed in this sport.”

Photographer Kit Houghton will succeed Smith as BEWA chairman.

The 2008 BEWA Awards, presented at a lunch at Queen’s Club, included the BEWA Trophy to Lee Pearson, who won a gold medal at the Paralympic Games, the Vivien Batchelor Trophy to Paralympic gold medallist Sophie Christiansen, for the most
outstanding rider under-25, the Cynthia Muir Trophy to 16-year-old George Whitaker for the most outstanding under-18 rider, and the Liz Dudden Trophy for contributions to equestrian sport to Douglas Bunn, founder of Hickstead.

The Petplan Equine Horse of the Year was Miners Frolic, ridden by Tina Cooke, who won individual and team bronze in the Olympic three-day event.

Join the SJA today – click here for details and membership application form