Indian Premier League agrees coverage terms

From the News Media Coalition
The DLF Indian Premier League (IPL) and the global news media industry has agreed on terms of coverage for the league’s forthcoming season 2009 in South Africa.

The News Media Coalition (NMC), on behalf of media interests worldwide, had been in discussion with the DLF IPL about media accreditation arrangements.

Lalit Modi, chairman and commissioner of the DLF Indian Premier League said, ‘We are pleased to have reached this agreement with the global news media industry. This will now allow DLF IPL fans across the world to gain access to the festival of sport and entertainment that is set to unfold here in South Africa over the next few weeks.

“It was always our intention to given an event like the DLF IPL its proper due by having it covered by the world’s media. We are pleased to have reached this agreement.”

Andrew Moger, Executive Director of the NMC said: ‘The outcome allows us to provide coverage of what promises to be a news-worthy spectacle. We are grateful for the time that the DLF IPL’s officers have put into our successful dialogue.”

The DLF Indian Premier League is set to kick-off in Cape Town with an exciting double-header weekend, which will see all eight teams pitted against each other. On April 18, the winner of the inaugural season, the Rajasthan Royals, will face-off against the Royal Challengers Bangalore, while the Mumbai Indians will do battle against the Chennai Super Kings. On April 19, the Deccan Chargers will face Bollywood Superstar Shah Rukh Khan’s Kolkata Knight Riders and the second game will see the Delhi Dare Devils take on the Kings XI Punjab.

The entire schedule for Season 2009 in South Africa is available for download at – the official online destination for the Indian Premier League.

DLF Indian Premier League’s season in South African will see the eight franchises in a league phase comprising 56 matches to be played on 34 days at eight venues: Cape Town, Johannesburg, Durban, Pretoria, East London, Port Elizabeth, Bloemfontein and Kimberley.

The semi-finals have been scheduled for May 22 and 23 at Pretoria and Johannesburg respectively, with the Grand Final schedule for May 24 at Johannesburg.

For further information contact:

Andrew Moger, NMC
+44 (0)7836 572273

Percy Dubash/Jitendra Jha

Click here for more sports journalism links

Join the SJA today – click here for details and membership application form