Vote opens for 2017 British Sports Awards

The wait is over.  As we head towards the end of another wonderful sporting year, it is time to make your choices for the SJA 2017 Sportsman, Sportswoman and Team of the Year.

The  winners will be revealed at the British Sports Awards, a gala ceremony in London sponsored by The National Lottery, and attended by a glittering array of figures from the world of sport and media.

It is the SJA membership, a knowledgeable and professional association of sports journalists, who decides the winners of the longest-established sports awards in this country.  As well as the three top prizes, presented by Association president Patrick Collins, there are many other awards recognising sporting excellence.

This year’s 69th edition will take place at The Pavilion at the Tower of London on Wednesday December 6.

Since 2012, the SJA’s British Sports Awards have been generously sponsored by The National Lottery, who through two decades and £6 billion of funding, have transformed the fortunes of many of Britain’s sports.

Last year, the leading awards went to Andy Murray, Laura Kenny and Team GB’s women’s hockey Olympic gold medallists.

Members can vote for their one, two, three in each Sportsman, Sportswoman and Team category.  The closing date is Wednesday November 8.

Please do make sure you use your votes. Our awards are among the most prized by the nation’s elite athletes because they are chosen by you – the nation’s sports journalists.

And once you have cast your vote, we hope that you will join us at the awards ceremony. Members’ tickets are heavily discounted.

Having a problem about who to vote for?  Prompt list

For full details and to book your place for SJA British Sports Awards 2017 please go to our booking site

About the British Sports Awards

The SJA charity partner for the British Sports and British Sports Journalism Awards is Alzheimer’s Society

Unite now – text UNITE to 70677 to donate £3 a month or visit