Vote for the SJA Pundit of the Year – members to decide the winner

THIS VOTE HAS NOW CLOSED; Sports Journalists’ Association members vote to decide the winner of the Pundit category; five new contenders for the prize at the SJA British Sports Journalism Awards 2023; gala ceremony in London on March 25…

‘Tone, expertise and delivery’ – the three main broadcasting qualities that those judging the SJA Pundit category look for when compiling the shortlist.

The previous winners of this honour at the SJA British Sports Journalism Awards are Ally McCoist, Emma Hayes, Michael Holding, Gary Neville and Osi Umenyiora.

The hunt is on to recognise the pundit, summariser, studio analyst or guest whose work has been the most impressive in the past year. Who has connected best to their audience?

Once again, it was up to the SJA membership to decide the winner, who will be revealed at the gala ceremony at the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge, sponsored by the National Lottery, on Monday March 25.

Here are the 10 contenders chosen for the 2023 Awards…


Ally McCoist – talkSPORT / TNT
Brian O’Driscoll – ITV
Ian Wright – ITV
Izzy Christiansen – Sky Sports
Jamie Carragher – Sky Sports
Karen Carney – ITV / Sky Sports
Lianne Sanderson – talkSPORT
Nasser Hussain – Sky Sports
Nedum Onuoha – BBC Radio 5 Live
Roy Keane – ITV / Sky Sports