Picture perfect: the shortlist for the SJA British Sports Photography Awards announced

The SJA can today name the shortlisted contenders for five photography categories at the 2017 British Sports Journalism Awards, sponsored by the National Lottery.

The winners and highly commended entries will be revealed at the 41st staging of event at the Westminster Bridge Park Plaza on Monday February 26. 

And that is when the SJA Sports Photographer of the Year, chosen from among the category winners, will be announced by SJA President Patrick Collins, at a ceremony hosted by Jim Rosenthal.

We are delighted to welcome Canon as awards partners this year. They will support our Sports Portfolio and Photographer of the Year awards.

Last year, Alex Livesey of Getty Images lifted the top prize, the Ed Lacey Trophy, awarded for Sports Photographer of the Year, having also won the Sports Portfolio category.

He has been nominated again – as has Richard Pelham (The Sun), the winner of the 2016 Football Picture category.

Other winners last year were freelance Myriam Cawston (Picture of the Year), for her remarkable ice-dance photograph, and Alan Crowhurst  (Getty Images) whose extraordinary racing images won him the Specialist Sports Portfolio award.

The Rio 2016 Portfolio category, won by Clive Mason, has been replaced by Away from the Action – for an outstanding single picture taken away from the field of play. Entries could include portraits, features or sports news photos.

Chairman of judges David Ofield said: “As demands on photographers continue to grow, the quality of the pictures judged in this year’s competition were of the highest standard.

“A number of portfolios stood out in terms of quality and creativity. The judges had some difficult decisions to make but after lengthy deliberations all the judges were unanimous in their final selections.

“I would like to thank all the photographers that entered this year and congratulations to the nominees.”

Tickets for the event, which also includes a photo exhibition of the short-listed entries, are available HERE


Away from the Action
Marc Aspland – The Times
Philip Brown – Freelance
Clive Brunskill – Getty Images
Laurence Griffiths – Getty Images
Ian MacNicol – Freelance
Oli Scarff – Freelance

Football Portfolio
Marc Atkins – Offside Sports Photography
Andrew Boyers – Action Images / Reuters
Laurence Griffiths – Getty Images
Phil Noble – Reuters
Richard Pelham – The Sun
Michael Regan – Getty Images

Specialist Sports Portfolio
Philip Brown – Freelance
Clive Brunskill – Getty Images
Alan Crowhurst – Getty Images
Lawrence Lustig – Freelance
Clive Mason – Getty Images
Andrew Redington – Getty Images

Sports Picture
Henry Browne – Freelance
Daniel Chesterton – PHC Images
Mike Hewitt – Getty Images
Alex Livesey – Getty Images
Clive Mason – Getty Images
Richard Pelham – The Sun

Canon Sports Portfolio
Shaun Botterill – Getty Images
Laurence Griffiths – Getty Images
Ian MacNicol – Freelance
Clive Mason – Getty Images
Bradley Ormesher – The Times
Clive Rose – Getty Images

Click here to see the past winners of the SJA British Sports Photography Awards.

The SJA is the largest member organisation of sports media professionals in the world. Join us: Click here for more details

The SJA charity partner for the British Sports and British Sports Journalism Awards is Alzheimer’s Society
Unite now – text UNITE to 70677 to donate £3 a month or visit