Nominations window opens for SJA ‘Sport for Change’ Award

Organisations across the UK that are harnessing the power of sport and physical activity for good are encouraged to submit entries for annual award by end of October; supported by the Sport for Development Coalition, the ‘Sport for Change’ category is part of the prestigious SJA British Sports Awards…

By the SJA

Mike Dale from Panathlon picked up the ‘Sport for Change’ Award in 2022 on behalf of the charity

Nominations are being invited for the ‘Sport for Change’ category at the 2023 SJA British Sports Awards.

Panathlon Challenge, a grassroots charity established to offer competitive sporting opportunities to young disabled people, were the winners last year.

The award, which has been supported by the Sport for Development Coalition since 2018, aims to highlight the amazing work of organisations across the UK that are using sport and/or physical activity to create a positive impact on local communities and individuals in need. These can be nationwide, or at a local, grassroots level.

The award recognises the growing influence of the sport for development sector, which includes professional club foundations, charities, sports governing bodies, public sector and corporate social responsibility (CSR) programmes.

These organisations are addressing a wide range of important social, environmental and economic issues such as crime and unemployment, physical and mental health and wellbeing, climate change, and social inequality and discrimination.


SJA chairman Ashley Broadley, said: ““It is really important that these awards continue to recognise the brilliant work that is being done by organisations and individuals using sport to create a positive impact”

Organisations, both inside and outside of sport, are now being invited to submit their applications for the award, which will be judged by a panel of experts on the following criteria:

  • Impact and reach
  • Scale and difficulty of the issue being tackled
  • Longevity and sustainability of the project
  • Resourcefulness and dedication of staff, coaches and volunteers
  • Innovation and/or collaboration
  • Monitoring and evaluation, including clarity and transparency around impact reporting

Applicants must provide an overview of no more than 300 words describing their project or ongoing work, plus a 200-word case study demonstrating the impact of the programme, for example on a specific individual or community.

To enter, complete the online form no later than 5pm on Tuesday 31 October. Make sure you include the name of the project and/or organisation and provide contact details, including name of contact, telephone, email, website and social media handles.

Shortlisted organisations will be invited to attend the SJA British Sports Awards ceremony which will be held in London at the Kia Oval on Thursday 7 December from 12pm.

SJA Sport for Change Award – Past Winners

  • 2018: The Wave Project
  • 2019: Salaam Peace
  • 2020: Marcus Rashford, Lou Macari, Ebony Rainford-Brent and Dons Action Group
  • 2021: The London Marathon
  • 2022: Panathlon Challenge

The entry deadline for 2023 is Tuesday 31 October, 5pm GMT. If you have any questions or queries, please contact

The Sport for Development Coalition is a movement of organisations working to maximise the positive impact of sport and physical activity. For more information, visit: