Entries for 2016 Sports Journalism Awards are open until Jan 18

Entry forms are available for the 2016 SJA British Sports Journalism Awards, sponsored by BT Sport.

sponsors-logo-bt-sportWith prizes in 29 categories across all forms of media, for sports writing, in newspapers, magazines or online, for photography, or broadcasting, across all platforms, the SJA awards is the major national competition open to all sports writers, staff or freelance contributors, to national, regional, daily or weekly newspapers, as well as specialist sports magazines, news agencies and websites.

Categories remain largely the same as in previous years, with the one significant difference for photographers being the inclusion for 2016 of a prize for the best portfolio of work from the Rio Olympic or Paralympic Games.

We also have two new chairs of the judging panels in Peter Jackson, the former rugby correspondent of the Daily Mail, and Dave Ofield, a former picture editor on national titles, who have carefully assembled a group of expert and respected figures from our business to choose the cream of the cream from the entries submitted.

There are three categories where the winners are chosen slightly differently.

LONDON, ENGLAND - MARCH 23: xxx receives the xxx Award from xxx during the SJA British Sports Journalism Awards at Grand Connaught Rooms on March 23, 2015 in London, England. (Photo by Tom Dulat/Getty Images)
LThe BT Sport-sponsored SJA British Sports Journalism Awards night is a gala celebration of our business. The 2016 awards will be presented in London on February 27, 2017

The John Bromley Sportswriter of the Year is chosen by a vote of national and regional sports editors.

The Ed Lacey Trophy for the Sports Photographer of the Year is awarded by our judges from the winners of the sports portfolio and specialist sports portfolio.

The Sports Newspaper of the Year is chosen by a panel of leading figures in sports journalism.

Thanks to the continuing and generous support of the SJA’s partners, including BT Sport, The National Lottery and Ladbrokes – who are the sponsors of the Specialist Correspondent Award – the entry fees for SJA members have been further reduced this year, representing another benefit of membership.

The leading contenders in each category will be revealed when the shortlists are published on this website in February, while the awards will be presented at a gala dinner celebration of sports journalism on February 27 2017 at a new venue for the SJA, the Westminster Park Plaza.

Full details of the competitiion rules, entry process and frequently asked questions can be seen here. Entries in all categories must be submitted before the deadline of January 18, 2017.