British Sports Journalism awards: 2017 writing shortlists are announced

The SJA can today name the shortlists in our sports-writing categories after another bumper record of entries for the 2017 British Sports Journalism Awards.

Winners and highly commended entries will be revealed at the 41st staging of the British Sports Journalism Awards sponsored by the National Lottery at the Westminster Bridge  Park Plaza on Monday February 26. 

We are delighted to have new partners for the rugby union and football writers of the year. UEFA will support the Football Journalist category via their campaign Together#WePlayStrong, which is aimed at transforming perceptions of women’s football and encouraging girls to take up and continue playing the game.

European Professional Club Rugby will back Rugby Union Journalist of the Year. Stephen Jones of the Times and Sunday Times has won this award twice in the three years it has been running.

The John Bromley Sports Writer of the Year will be announced by SJA President Patrick Collins, at a ceremony hosted by Jim Rosenthal. Paul Hayward of the Daily Telegraph was the recipient last year, the fourth time in 21 years.

This coveted award is decided on a vote by senior figures in the world of sports media, including sports editors from national and regional newspapers. A panel of experts also chooses the Sports Newspaper of the Year, won  for the last four years by the Daily Mail.

The 2016 awards were memorable because they featured five first-time winners of their respective categories, four from national dailies.

Matt Dickinson of The Times was Sports Columnist, Sean Ingle of the Guardian and Observer was Specialist Correspondent, Daniel Taylor of the Guardian/Observer won Sports Scoop of the Year and the Telegraph’s Oliver Brown was Sports Feature Writer. Taylor also won the Football Journalist award for the second  year in succession.

Past winners of the British Sports Journalism Awards

Tickets for the event, at the Westminster Bridge Park Plaza hotel, are available here.


Cricket Journalist

Michael Atherton – The Times

Scyld Berry – The Telegraph

Lawrence Booth – Daily Mail / The Mail on Sunday

Peter Hayter – The Cricket Paper

Nick Hoult – The Telegraph

Paul Newman – Daily Mail

UEFA Together #WePlayStrong Football Journalist of the Year



Jason Burt – The Telegraph

James Ducker – The Telegraph

Matt Hughes – The Times

Oliver Kay – The Times

Rory Smith – The New York Times

Daniel Taylor – The Guardian and Observer

Investigative Sports Reporter

David Conn – The Guardian and Observer

Rob Draper & Nick Harris – The Mail on Sunday

Danielle Rossingh – CNN

The Telegraph Investigations Team – The Telegraph

Jeremy Wilson – The Telegraph

Martyn Ziegler – The Times

Regional Journalist

Neil Allen – Portsmouth News

Jon Colman – Cumbrian Newspapers

Mark Douglas – The Journal

Danny Hall – Sheffield Star

Simon Walter – Daily Echo

Chris Wathan – Media Wales


European Professional Club Rugby Journalist of the Year



Mick Cleary – The Telegraph

Brendan Gallagher – The Rugby Paper

Stephen Jones – The Sunday Times

Alex Lowe – The Times

Gavin Mairs – The Telegraph

Kate Rowan – The Telegraph

Daniel Schofield – The Telegraph

Owen Slot – The Times

Special Sports Edition

Boxing News – 100 Greatest British Boxers

Daily Mirror – Cheltenham Festival

Rugby World – Inside The Lions

The Independent – The Premier League at 25

The Sun – London 2017 World Athletics Championships Guide

The Telegraph – The Ashes

Specialist Correspondent

Matt Christie – Boxing News

Gareth A Davies – The Telegraph

Sean Ingle – The Guardian and Observer

Vikki Orvice – The Sun

Jeff Powell – Daily Mail

David Yates – Daily Mirror

Sports Columnist

Matt Dickinson – The Times

Matthew Engel – Freelance

Paul Hayward – Telegraph

Oliver Holt – Mail on Sunday

Brian Reade – Daily Mirror

Martin Samuel – Daily Mail

Sports Feature Writer

Murad Ahmed – The Financial Times

James Gheerbrant – The Times

Oliver Holt – The Mail on Sunday

Donald McRae – The Guardian and Observer

Alyson Rudd – The Times

Rory Smith – The New York Times

Sports News Reporter

Elizabeth Ammon – The Times

Ian Herbert – Daily Mail / The Independent

Martha Kelner – The Guardian and Observer

Matt Law – The Telegraph

Matt Lawton – Daily Mail

Mike Rowbottom –

Ben Rumsby – the Telegraph

Sports Scoop

Martha Kelner & Sean Ingle – The Guardian and Observer – Chris Froome failed drugs test

Matt Lawton – Daily Mail – Ranieri sacked

Warren Manger – Daily Mirror – Dementia: Rich game refuses to help struggling ex stars

Vikki Orvice – The Sun – Farah’s leaving coach and coming home

Daniel Taylor – The Guardian and Observer – Eni Aluko accuses England manager Mark Sampson of ‘racist’ Ebola remark

Telegraph Investigations Team – Gatlin embroiled in new athletics doping scandal

Sports Website

Daily Mail


Sport 500

The Telegraph

The Guardian

Training Ground Guru

Young Sports Writer – the Ian Wooldridge Trophy

Adam Crafton – Daily Mail / The Mail on Sunday

Ben Fisher – The Guardian and Observer

Amy Lofthouse – BBC Sports News

Hugo Lowell – The i Newspaper

Liam Morgan –

Tom Roddy – Newsweek

Amitai Winehouse – Daily Mail / Mailonline


The SJA charity partner for the British Sports and British Sports Journalism Awards is Alzheimer’s Society.  Unite now – text UNITE to 70677 to donate £3 a month or visit

To join the SJA,  click HERE