Botterill bags the big one as iconic World Cup images are celebrated at Canon Photography Awards

Getty Images photographer Shaun Botterill does the double, landing Canon Portfolio and Ed Lacey Trophy at SJA British Sports Journalism Awards; his colleagues Catherine Ivill and Michael Regan claim Football Portfolio and Picture categories respectively; Oli Scarff and Alex Broadway also win awards…

Jakki Moores with Ed Lacey Trophy winner Shaun Botterill

Shaun Botterill had never previously won a Canon Photography Award but after 36 years in the industry, he claimed a category at last – and then promptly followed it up with the Ed Lacey Trophy for SJA Photographer of the Year.

It was a similar story to the previous British Sports Journalism Awards ceremony when David Davies did the same.

The judges hailed Botterill as “one of the most highly respected and versatile sports photographers in the world, and an inspiration to so many in the photographic community”.

Shaun Botterill’s winning entry in Canon Portfolio

It put the seal on an incredible 2022 for Botterill who has seen his shot of Leo Messi lifting the FIFA World Cup trophy in December become the most popular post in Instagram history.

At the time of writing, there are a staggering 75m likes on that post – and it wasn’t even part of Botterill’s winning Canon Portfolio entry!

Instead, he selected a different, wide shot of Messi sitting on the shoulders of Sergio Aguero as Argentina partied at the Lusail Stadium, in his set of 10 photographs in the category representing a variety of sports and disciplines.

That Messi moment also proved a winner for Michael Regan who took first prize in the 10-strong Picture shortlist – a category the judges said was “overflowing with wonderful images”.

They chose Regan’s for its “joy, passion and impact… it’s a celebration centered on the genius of an amazing footballer, pictured in a sea of fans, teammates and media.”

Lionel Messi celebrates after winning the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 Final match between Argentina and France at Lusail Stadium on December 18, 2022 (Michael Regan – FIFA/FIFA via Getty Images)

There were plenty more stunners from Qatar among those shortlisted in the Football Portfolio category.

Catherine Ivill was named winner here, her entry also including a joyous shot of the Lionesses’ raising the UEFA Women’s Euros trophy at Wembley. Botterill, Regan and Ivill are all from the Getty Images stable.

Victoria Haydn with Football Portfolio award winner Catherine Ivill

An underwater rescue secured AFP’s Oli Scarff the News Picture Award.

His shot of coach Andrea Fuentes assisting US artistic swimmer Anita Alvarez after the latter lost consciousness at the bottom of the pool during the FINA World Championships in Budapest most impressed the judges.

Coach Andrea Fuentes (R) swims to recover the USA’s Anita Alvarez (L) during the women’s solo free artistic swimming finals at the World Aquatics Championships in Budapest on June 22, 2022 (Oli Scarff – AFP)

A vibrant and varied selection of cycling photographs saw freelancer Alex Broadway claim the Specialist Portfolio category, and there were also two tremendous track cycling shots in Will Palmer‘s winning entry for Young Photographer, which was announced in advance of awards night.

View all the images in every shortlisted portfolio and category here


Winner: Shaun Botterill – Getty Images


Alex Pantling – Getty Images; Clive Brunskill – Getty Images; Julian Finney – Getty Images; Oli Scarff – Agence France-Presse (AFP); Ryan Pierse – Getty Images; Shaun Botterill – Getty Images

Bronze: Julian Finney – Getty Images; Silver: Alex Pantling – Getty Images; Winner: Shaun Botterill – Getty Images


Carl Recine – Reuters; Catherine Ivill – Getty Images; Julian Finney – Getty Images; Martin Rickett – PA Media; Peter Cziborra – Action Images / Reuters; Richard Pelham – The Sun

Bronze: Julian Finney – Getty Images, Martin Rickett – PA Media; Silver: Carl Recine – Reuters; Winner: Catherine Ivill – Getty Images


Alex Broadway – Freelance; Clive Mason – Getty Images; Laurence Griffiths – Getty Images; Mike Egerton – PA Media; Oli Scarff – Agence France-Presse (AFP); Richard Heathcote – Getty Images

Bronze: Mike Egerton – PA Media; Silver: Clive Mason – Getty Images; Winner: Alex Broadway – Freelance


Alex Livesey – Getty Images; Ben Stansall – Agence France-Presse (AFP); Julian Finney – Getty Images; Oli Scarff – Agence France-Presse (AFP); Philip Brown – Popperfoto; Tom Jenkins – The Guardian and The Observer

Bronze: Tom Jenkins – The Guardian and The Observer; Silver: Julian Finney – Getty Images; Winner: Oli Scarff – AFP


Andrew Couldridge – Action Images / Reuters; Ben Stansall – Agence France-Presse (AFP); Clive Brunskill – Getty Images; Ian MacNicol – Freelance; John Walton – PA Media; Justin Setterfield – Getty Images; Martin Rickett – PA Media; Michael Regan – Getty Images; Michael Steele – Getty Images; Paul Childs – Action Images / Reuters

Bronze: Ben Stansall AFP; John Walton – PA Media; Silver: Ian MacNicol – Freelance; Winner: Michael Regan – Getty Images


George Wood – Getty Images; Harriet Lander – Getty Images; James Chance – Getty Images; Joseph Portlock – Getty Images; Will Palmer – Freelance; Zac Goodwin – PA Media

Bronze: James Chance – Getty Images; Silver: Zac Goodwin – PA Media; Winner: Will Palmer – Freelance