Accreditation: ICC women’s World Cup

From the ICC
The accreditation process for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2009 in Australia is open.

Members of the media who wish to work at the event are urged to submit their applications before the close of business on Sunday 15 February 2009 (Dubai time).

The tournament will see the world’s top eight teams – host and holder Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies – compete at six venues across New South Wales and Australian Capital Territory (ACT) in 16 days from 7 to 22 March.

ESPN STAR Sports, ICC’s official broadcaster, will broadcast all seven matches that will take place at North Sydney Oval, including the final. This will ensure that the event will be the most widely viewed to date, with the coverage to be aired in more than 100 countries.

Five of the six venues – Bankstown, Bowral, Canberra, Newcastle and North Sydney – have already staged women’s One-Day Internationals. The other ground being used in the tournament, Drummoyne, will host five matches.

For organisational purposes, all media representatives intending to cover the ICC Women’s World Cup 2009 must apply for accreditation. Please reply as soon as possible by email to Lucy Benjamin with the following information:

Name and job title

Organisation (please clarify if it is a newspaper, magazine, radio, television or a website)


Matches intended to cover

A passport-style photograph in jpeg form

In due course, journalists will be informed about the status of their application. Please note that it may be necessary to provide proof of identification as a working journalist and a letter of authorisation from the editor or sports editor of your organisation.

Event format

The format of the event involves the teams being divided into two groups. Australia, New Zealand, the West Indies and South Africa are in Group A while India, England, Sri Lanka and Pakistan are in Group B.

The top three sides in each group go forward to the Super Six stage where each side then plays the teams which have qualified from the other group. The top two sides from the Super Six go forward to the final.

For more information, accreditation conditions and details, contact:
Media and Communications
International Cricket Council
P.O Box 500 070
United Arab Emirates
Tel. + 971 4 368 8300
Fax. + 971 4 368 8080


More sports journalism links

VOTE NOW for your Sports Broadcaster and Sports Programme of 2008. SJA members should click here for a prompt list and information on voting